Italian Subs - Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Here's what you need to do to make these more authentic.... In step one, omit the lettuce, as it will only get soggy anyway. Instead of adding your dill pickle slices at the end of the recipe, chop them up along with the onion and tomatoes and add them here. After you let it sit and marinate in the fridge for an hour or so, you get this super delicious relish type of spread for your subs. Its the perfect match for the real Italian cold cuts! Don't skimp on the quality of the meat here either. Its well worth the extra money to buy the good stuff. I brought these to a party and they were quickly devoured. I'm originally from Boston where you can always get a great Italian sub at any one of the many "Mom & Pop" delis. However, I now live in the mid-west and you cannot find a decent Italian sub here! Some places actually use ham and bologna, and call it Italian!!! THANK YOU, THANK YOU and THANKS AGAIN for this recipe! For me its like a little taste of "home"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This is almost exactly how my mom used to make these when I was growing up! The only difference was that she would marinate the lettuce, tomato, onion mixture overnight, and she would put the subs under the broiler to melt the cheese before she put the salad mixture onto the subs. Try it - you'll LOVE them hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I thought this was good. My wife said it was great. I rate it great. Any questions ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This was awesome. The salad mix rocks. I tweaked the sandwich a bit but left the dressing and salad mix the same. I like to buy a loaf of french bread cut it open, spread butter/margerine and garlic salt on both halves put the cheese on the bottom then throw it under the broiler until the cheese is melted. I also used mozzarella cheese slices. Then I constructed the sandwich with ham, turkey, genoa salami, and sandwich size pepperonis, then put the salad mix on top, Closed it up, sliced it to meet our family needs and served with baked chips and a cookie. It rocked. The salad mix does make the sandwich. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
OH MY GOD!!! My husband is from Boston and when I told him I was making Italians at home he wasn't too jazzed. Man, did he change his tune! We live in FL now, so it's not as easy to get a quality sandwich here as it is back home. I left out the lettuce for fear it would get soggy, and added it at the end. I used ham, capicola, and salami. Totally awesome.....thanks a million! BTW: this dressing (minus the lettuce) makes an awesome topping for bruchetta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Don't let the salad sit for more than the recommended hour--it turns a solid, pasty, inedible mess. I guess the oil congeals or something. Once I redid it and watched the time, we thought these were pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This is a five star recipe because it is so easy to tailor to your own tastes. I made a few changes; when making the "salad" portion, I decreased the garlic, left the lettuce out until the final prep, and I also did not feel it needed to be refrigerated. I also only let it sit for 15 min. while I prepped the remaining ingredients. I also added salt and pepper to the dressing. Instead of Proscuitto, I chose Mortadella. Like other reviewers, I like to heat the broiler and give the sandwich just a minute to melt the cheese. I also like the bread to have either mayo or butter on it. I left out the Dills and serve it with Pepperocinis. In any case, this recipe has everything to recreate your favorite Italian Deli Sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Wow - these definitely are "Restaruant" quality Italian subs! I mean why order out when you can make these yourself at home with fantastic results. The only thing I did differently was to use crisp iceberg lettuce vs. red leaf lettuce but other than that I wouldn't change a thing. These are a great way to beat the summer heat on nights when it's just too hot to make anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
YUM! I opted to toast my sandwich before putting on the 'salad' mixture and pickles. The salad is fantastic, and if you're thinking of skipping the pickles...DON'T, they add such a wonderful flavor to this. I did use shredded iceberg lettuce and vidalia onion because that's what I had. We were very happy with dinner tonight. I will definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Great recipe! Great sandwich! I made enough for 10 people. My guests literally inhaled the subs. However I did substitute the Prosciutto with Italian grilled ham. It is similar in appearance to Prosciutto but not nearly as dry; it’s more kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States