Italian Subs - Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was really good. So much better than Subway's sandwiches. I used a loaf of French bread, added pepperoni, and marinaded the tomato and onion in the olive oil mix. My husband prefers his sandwiches dry so he didn't care for the dressing but liked the sandwich, my son thought the olive oil was too strong. What a filling and tasty meal all in one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by MATTSBELLY
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Oh My!!! These were fabulous! I had eaten a half of one before even getting to the table to eat. For the tomato, onion mixture, I followed one reviewers advice to "make it more authentic" (don't know if it was or not) to add the pickles chopped up. I did marinade the tomato mixture for a few hours. I did not add the lettuce until 1 hour before serving so that it wouldn't get too soggy. After assembling subs I did throw the bottom half under the broiler quickly to melt the cheese. We are still talking about it the next day. So yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
There is this deli downtown in an area which used to be an Italian neighborhood. The subs were exactly like these. Thank you for that memory and the great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Excellent authentic flavor PLUS an original and simple way to serve a crowd quickly. Add Cento diced hot cherry peppers and make this a 5+ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Excellent Sub!! The whole party loved it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I love the recipe. It's A+ Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Made these a few weeks back for a Seahawks game watching party and everybody loved them! Right before leaving the house, I assembled the sandwiches, wrapped them in foil, then slice them at the party. They were great, thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is one Awesome Sub! I couldn't find some of the meats, so I used a combination of genoa salami, pepperoni, and ham. I also used Creamy Italian Dressing, which my kids prefer. Next time I'll make some of the subs, using the dressing listed in the recipe.I also toasted the subs. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Yum! I made as recipe states. I usually make this same sandwich, but with mayo/mustard - this is a classy & delicious step up! My husband liked it pretty well too (minus the onion & tomato). Next time I am thinking I will also add olives to the veggie mixture. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Yummy. This was so good. I love the lettuce mixture. I used ham, mortabella, and pepperoni for my meats. I also skipped the pickles and used bannana peppers. I will be making again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States