Italian Subs - Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Pretty good! Made these for a quick dinner last Fri. eve. My fiance usually plays softball on Fri. Last week's game was sch. to begin at 9:15 PM, so I was planning to have dinner at home 1st b4 we left for the game. B/c my fiance doesn't like to play on a "full" stomach, he asked that I prepare something light. Unfortunately, it rained all day, so his game was cxl. I had already bought all of the stuff to make subs, so we had them anyways. I pretty much followed John's direct. to the ltr., except for a few changes. First, I subbed mortadela - (w/o pistachios - yuck!) - for prosciutto since it was WAAAY cheaper to do so (prosciutto at my local Italian market was $6.99/lb; mortadella was only $2.99!). I also lightly brushed my sub rolls w/ a mix. of melted butter & garlic powder, broiled for a min. or so to toast, topped w/ meats/cheese & then broiled just until the cheese was melted. We also topped our subs w/ a little mayo and TONS of the YUMMY salad (it's the best part IMHO). To prevent my lettuce from wilting, I mix. all dressing ingredients, onion & tomato about an hr. b4 serving & then added the lettuce during the last 1/2 hr. Perfect! Served w/ kettle chips, Nabisco soft oatmeal raisin cookies & old fashioned cream sodas to wash it all down. Thanks for sharing your idea, John :) This is definitely cheaper than any of the sandwich chains in my area (and a dead on copy to boot!!!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Really excellent recipe!! Made them for my boyfriends road trip on whole wheat baguettes- fantastic. The dressing is the best part, I think you could use any type of meat and i would taste great. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Mmm these tasted just like the Mom and Pop sub place down the street. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lybra975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
The tomato relish, I will call it is awesome. I'd prefer different meats perhaps but the dressing and veggies are so good! Thanks for this recipe, the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
The salad topping was the best part. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffanyr222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Couldn't find capacola, so used regular ham instead. The onions seemed a little strong to me. Overall, a pretty good sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Really good! I added mortadella & peppercini's. Shredded the lettuce and added at the end. These are perfect for parties! If you don't have time to make the dressing, use Beano's brand submarine dressing. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was really good. So much better than Subway's sandwiches. I used a loaf of French bread, added pepperoni, and marinaded the tomato and onion in the olive oil mix. My husband prefers his sandwiches dry so he didn't care for the dressing but liked the sandwich, my son thought the olive oil was too strong. What a filling and tasty meal all in one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by MATTSBELLY
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Oh My!!! These were fabulous! I had eaten a half of one before even getting to the table to eat. For the tomato, onion mixture, I followed one reviewers advice to "make it more authentic" (don't know if it was or not) to add the pickles chopped up. I did marinade the tomato mixture for a few hours. I did not add the lettuce until 1 hour before serving so that it wouldn't get too soggy. After assembling subs I did throw the bottom half under the broiler quickly to melt the cheese. We are still talking about it the next day. So yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
There is this deli downtown in an area which used to be an Italian neighborhood. The subs were exactly like these. Thank you for that memory and the great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States