Italian Subs - Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These subs are SO good! The yummy dressing is what gives this recipe its great flavor. I've made these subs many times, sometimes leaving out the onion if I don't have it, using various types of lettuce, and sometimes substituting ham for capacola, but the results have always been delicious. Thanks, John, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Subs were great, my husband devoured them and said "you can make these anytime". The dressing was fantastic, and I didn't change anything. Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
All my husband kept saying while eating this was..."Oh, my heavens - that's a good sandwich!" I made the relish exactly as stated. I didn't have a problem with the lettuce wilting and it was really good. I did only use 1/2 a head of red lettuce instead of the full head. I used genoa salami, large pepperoni slices, & ham instead of the listed meats because that is what my husband prefers. Next time though - I will use the three meats the recipe calls for. It was REALLY good and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Pretty good! Made these for a quick dinner last Fri. eve. My fiance usually plays softball on Fri. Last week's game was sch. to begin at 9:15 PM, so I was planning to have dinner at home 1st b4 we left for the game. B/c my fiance doesn't like to play on a "full" stomach, he asked that I prepare something light. Unfortunately, it rained all day, so his game was cxl. I had already bought all of the stuff to make subs, so we had them anyways. I pretty much followed John's direct. to the ltr., except for a few changes. First, I subbed mortadela - (w/o pistachios - yuck!) - for prosciutto since it was WAAAY cheaper to do so (prosciutto at my local Italian market was $6.99/lb; mortadella was only $2.99!). I also lightly brushed my sub rolls w/ a mix. of melted butter & garlic powder, broiled for a min. or so to toast, topped w/ meats/cheese & then broiled just until the cheese was melted. We also topped our subs w/ a little mayo and TONS of the YUMMY salad (it's the best part IMHO). To prevent my lettuce from wilting, I mix. all dressing ingredients, onion & tomato about an hr. b4 serving & then added the lettuce during the last 1/2 hr. Perfect! Served w/ kettle chips, Nabisco soft oatmeal raisin cookies & old fashioned cream sodas to wash it all down. Thanks for sharing your idea, John :) This is definitely cheaper than any of the sandwich chains in my area (and a dead on copy to boot!!!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Really excellent recipe!! Made them for my boyfriends road trip on whole wheat baguettes- fantastic. The dressing is the best part, I think you could use any type of meat and i would taste great. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Mmm these tasted just like the Mom and Pop sub place down the street. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lybra975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
The tomato relish, I will call it is awesome. I'd prefer different meats perhaps but the dressing and veggies are so good! Thanks for this recipe, the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
The salad topping was the best part. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffanyr222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Couldn't find capacola, so used regular ham instead. The onions seemed a little strong to me. Overall, a pretty good sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Really good! I added mortadella & peppercini's. Shredded the lettuce and added at the end. These are perfect for parties! If you don't have time to make the dressing, use Beano's brand submarine dressing. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States