Italian Subs - Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm this was excellent. I used yellow american cheese instead of provolone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
These subs were amazing! The flavor was soo good... will definitely remember this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Great Recipe! I did not mix the lettuce in with the tomatoes and onion because I didn't want it to get soggy in the relish like mix. I put it on last and it was a nice and crisp addition. Also, we used pita's because they were easier to make at our picnic. They were really good! (Also, i cut up WICKLES and tossed them in with the red onion and tomato mix. If you haven't heard of them they are delicious pickles-ask for them in your grocery store)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
My family loves this sandwich. It was a hit at our family reunion! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
We changed the meats up a little every time we make them. They are great just as the recipe is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryi Mauney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This sandwich is absolutely as good as any served in a restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly and thought the marinade was outstanding. You must definitely use the Italian meats listed. The only thing that I recommend is to not put the lettuce in with the tomato and onion. I used fresh tomatoes, Italian parsley, and basil from my garden which made it better. This is a sandwich I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was very god, though I wan't a fan of the overly wet lettuce/tomato/onion combo. Next time, I might be inclined to just mix the olive oil and other stuff, and drizzle it over the lettuce and some sliced onions and tomato. Also, the ingredients are rather expensive, so much so that you can almost get a restaurant sub for close to this price. Next time, I'm going to experiment with different mixes of meats, including mortadella, sporessata and pepperoni. But, all told, it's a good eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These subs are SO good! The yummy dressing is what gives this recipe its great flavor. I've made these subs many times, sometimes leaving out the onion if I don't have it, using various types of lettuce, and sometimes substituting ham for capacola, but the results have always been delicious. Thanks, John, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Subs were great, my husband devoured them and said "you can make these anytime". The dressing was fantastic, and I didn't change anything. Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
All my husband kept saying while eating this was..."Oh, my heavens - that's a good sandwich!" I made the relish exactly as stated. I didn't have a problem with the lettuce wilting and it was really good. I did only use 1/2 a head of red lettuce instead of the full head. I used genoa salami, large pepperoni slices, & ham instead of the listed meats because that is what my husband prefers. Next time though - I will use the three meats the recipe calls for. It was REALLY good and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States