Italian Subs - Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I wasn't that crazy about the sandwich, I've had better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
These subs are as good as any I have had at any restaurant. Made some broccoli and cheese soup to go with them. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
D E L I C I O U S ! ! ! I left the mix overnight in the fridge, covered with plastic wrap, to make my sandwiches in the morning, worked just fine! Make sure your bread surface is large enough for all the meats and toppings or they'll fall out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was pretty good - not exactly authentic but a nice taste of Italian when far away from the northeast. Skip the lettuce and use dill relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Great recipe! Great sandwich! I made enough for 10 people. My guests literally inhaled the subs. However I did substitute the Prosciutto with Italian grilled ham. It is similar in appearance to Prosciutto but not nearly as dry; it’s more kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I did enjoy this. I was starving and in a rush to eat this so I didn't marinate the salad. I used sandwich thins for the bread, brushed it with the dressing added the meats and cheese and then toasted it. Then I added the tomatoes and more dressing, I forgot the pickles and purposely left off the the lettuce. I really enjoyed the meats and cheese, feel like the dressing needed a little more flavor. I will make it again and add more season to the dressing, and the pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Very good subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I have made these twice now and my husband and I LOVED them both times. I bought sub buns from the bakery the first time. Last night I made them again and bought a loaf of French bread. I spread butter on the top and bottom of bread and sprinkle with garlic powder and toast under broiler until brown. Then I put in ham, hard salami, and sandwich pepperoni and put cheese on top. Then I place under broiler again with just the bottom half with the meat to melt the cheese. I chop the lettuce with a knife, and add my cupped tomatoes and chopped red onion and mix together with the dressing as stated. I don't add any pickles to my sandwich. Sometimes I will let the dressing sit with the lettuce mix for an hour or just eat right away. I have never had a problem with my lettuce getting soggy as other people have stated. I even save it and we eat it the next day for more subs. I do add banana peppers to my sandwich too. These were very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Great Pie Maker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very good! I had troublw with sogginess on the bottom of the bread, so next time I will toast it a little before assembling the sandwich. We didn't have all the correct meats at the store so I just used genoa salami, pepperoni and ham. turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I just knew I would love this recipe. However, it was just ok to me. I followed the recipe pretty close as it's written. The only thing I did differently was add the lettuce at the end instead of mixing it in with the dressing. I also added more oregeno, that was just a personal choice because I love it. I didn't really care for the meat except the genoa salami which I love. We also heated the sandwich with the meats and cheese in the broiler before adding the other ingredients. Not a bad sandwich it just didn't blow me away. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States