Italian Style Winter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I used turkey it. sausage. People raved out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
My husband and I were absolutely amazed when we made this recipe. I had intended to follow it exactly, but we're not big garlic fans, and we love onions, so I made a few small changes. I only put in a clove and a half of garlic, and I upped the onion to about 1 cup (half a medium onion). I didn't quite have 8 cups of chicken stock, but I used what I had (probably about 6 or 6.5 cups). We also like a lot of meat, so I believe we put 6 links of sausage instead of 4. It was more like a stew than a soup, but we liked it that way. I can't wait to make this again, and next time I plan to double it and share with relatives! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I screwed this up at the end, and didn't add the cream, but I think it came out great as a rice dish! Try it, I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Starkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This is so easy and so good! Just what you need to make the winter months bearable; but it's good all year long too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Super easy to make and very comforting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I made this using handmade sausages from a local farm. Those were great of course, but the recipe would be just as stellar with store-bought sausages. Scaled down for two, it was a little small, but fabulously rich and creamy, almost like a risotto. Don't change anything until you've tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This soup is really great. I did one thing to alter it; we do not eat white rice in our home, so I used a wild rice blend from Wegman's supermarket. It really added to the heartiness of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very good soup. My husband and 5 kids ranging from 20 mos to 14yrs all said how much they liked it and had seconds or in my teenage sons case fourths! I did, as some others had suggested, and added cooked brown rice at the end so we would still have soup and not end up with a casserole. I also used ground sausage as that is what I had on hand. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Bressi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So when I made this recipe, I looked at the comments first and made some changes: I added less garlic (2 cloves) and instead of decreasing the amount of rice, I added more chicken stock (10 cups) to add liquid. I also used fresh chopped oregano, basil, and parsley instead of dried herbs. And finally, I didnt add the heavy cream. I made it in 2 big spaghetti pots, and saved one pot for the freezer and shared the rest with friends. It's really delicious even with the tweaks to the recipe and its exactly what I wanted (an herb/sausage/rice/broth soup). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This is a tasty, easy to make soup recipe. My husband loved it. The next time I make it however, I would reduce the amount of rice. The recipe calls for 2 cups and I only use 1 1/2 but still found that to be too much. Next time I will only use 1 cup of uncooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States