Italian Style Winter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
As is, this is just sausage and rice and needs quite a bit of help - like a lot less rice and a lot more of something else. I knew going in this was going to have too much rice so I prepared HALF the amount called for in advance, in chicken broth, and held it aside until I was ready to just add it to the soup at the end. I added mushrooms, carrots and celery to the sausage to give this some color and substance and they were great contributions. I added the rice at the end, then stirred in the cream and... I was still disappointed. It could have been creamier for one thing. And all those herbs just floated to the top and looked very unattractive; so unattractive that I skimmed most of it off and the soup was much improved, particularly in its appearance. We both liked the final result but it traveled a long way in the process to get to that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My family liked this though we did make a couple of changes. One NO heavy cream was added to the pot since my oldest has a dairy allergy. We also cut the rice in half based on the other reviews. It was still really good. I added cream to my bowl and it was even better! But it was really good even without the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Added petite diced tomatoes to this for some color and it was delicious! Very savory, creamy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So when I made this recipe, I looked at the comments first and made some changes: I added less garlic (2 cloves) and instead of decreasing the amount of rice, I added more chicken stock (10 cups) to add liquid. I also used fresh chopped oregano, basil, and parsley instead of dried herbs. And finally, I didnt add the heavy cream. I made it in 2 big spaghetti pots, and saved one pot for the freezer and shared the rest with friends. It's really delicious even with the tweaks to the recipe and its exactly what I wanted (an herb/sausage/rice/broth soup). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very good soup. My husband and 5 kids ranging from 20 mos to 14yrs all said how much they liked it and had seconds or in my teenage sons case fourths! I did, as some others had suggested, and added cooked brown rice at the end so we would still have soup and not end up with a casserole. I also used ground sausage as that is what I had on hand. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Bressi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I used turkey it. sausage. People raved out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tesa Dazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Didn't end up as soup, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Super easy to make and very comforting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
WAY TOO MUCH RICE! I thought this was a soup? It was like a humungous moist "pre-packaged" rice dish. Flavor was tolerable to me. Everyone else hit the brakes after about 3 bites. If you use hot sausage, it does make it quite spicy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I screwed this up at the end, and didn't add the cream, but I think it came out great as a rice dish! Try it, I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Starkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States