Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Fantastic! So easy too...don't bother to mix in a separate bowl, I just added the spices to the pan with the meat. I love fennel so I used that in place of anise. Didn't have paprika so I left that out too. You must try this, it is soooo good and soooo easy to make. Makes awesome crumbles as well as patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great recipe! I took this one and ran with it, adding 10 pounds of elk and multiplying all the ingredients by 5. It turned out great! Can't go wrong here! One complaint though: The recommendation of salt is WAY TOO much. I did 3/4 of the recommended amount and although I thought it tasted great, my dad thought it was too salty. Salt can make or break a recipe. Just be wary. Besides that, it's good to go. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Reduced the salt by 50%, added about 3/4 cups finely chopped tart apples, and a couple of teaspoons of bread crumbs as it was pretty moist. Patties cooked on the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tstubbs
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great jumping off recipe! My boyfriend and I love spicy so we tweaked it a little. We were also out of parsley . We doubled the pepper flakes, doubled the Italian seasoning, added 1 tsp sage, 1 tsp fennel seeds and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. Delicious!!! Will make over and over. We are also watching cholesterol so we did half lean pork and half lean ground chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
We love this. I usually use chicken and use the sausage for stuffed zucchini. Excellent recipe. Ty for sharing. Oh yeah. I use fennel instead of anise since I always have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Wonderful flavor exactly as written. I haven't bought ready made sausages since I discovered this recipe, sveral years ago. Much healthier than store bought. I have even tried it as a meatlloaf with a few extra ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this to put on pizza's, I didn't have any Italian Style seasoning, so I made my own and added to this with a fresh package of pork sausage from a butchered whole hog, this is perfect! And my husband loves it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Made this with ground beef instead of pork. Husband liked it I thought it was very good. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is a great starting point for a mix of spices for Italian sausage, easily tweak-able to individual preferences. I like to reduce the salt and increase everything else by just a bit, subbing out some of the anise for fennel. Also usually use a mix of pork and turkey. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Yum! doubled spices only 1/2 tsp salt, no anise, added 2+ tsp fennel seeds and half tsp coriander seeds. Made into logs, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States