Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This "Italian Style Sausage" would in fact make an excellent topping for pizza. I made mine into patties and baked them in the oven and they smelled exactly like pizza cooking. Thank you Lee Fogle for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this to put on pizza's, I didn't have any Italian Style seasoning, so I made my own and added to this with a fresh package of pork sausage from a butchered whole hog, this is perfect! And my husband loves it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Made this with ground beef instead of pork. Husband liked it I thought it was very good. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is a great starting point for a mix of spices for Italian sausage, easily tweak-able to individual preferences. I like to reduce the salt and increase everything else by just a bit, subbing out some of the anise for fennel. Also usually use a mix of pork and turkey. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Yum! doubled spices only 1/2 tsp salt, no anise, added 2+ tsp fennel seeds and half tsp coriander seeds. Made into logs, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was soo delicious! I had one pound of ground turkey that I needed to use up, and this was perfect. The measurements are spot on. When I buy some ground pork, I'll make pork sausage, but both ways are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I used this recipe for italian sausage because I could only find pork sausage at the store. It was wonderful!! I added this to the pizza casserole recipe I made for dinner!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babymama'10
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Now that i'm trying to cut down on salt, fat and preservative I search for recipes for much craved ready to cook foods. After reading some of the recipes here for homemade sausages, I've decided to try this one. Love love loved it. I made it with half beef and half chicken. Only other thing I did was added ground cloves and allspice. It is one of the best I've tasted. Next batch I'll add some oil to the mixture because this batch was little dry do to the fact that the ground meats I had on hand was very lean. Otherwise excellent recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Nice recipe. A bit too much salt for me (easily adjustable) and I too used fennel vs anise seed. I used the flavor profile as written but used different mediums on some (such as pasted roasted garlic, and finely minced sweet onion). Added a bit of a white balsamic and olive oil too. What I do (and suggest) regarding salt: start with 1/2 the salt, then, after allowing sausage to rest overnight, fry up a small portion and taste it cooked - add more salt and/or adj seasonings to your liking. Also: Got a big kick out of CountryRay (May 2010)review. Couldn't of said it better myself! Use the pork ppl :) I do grind my own using pork butt or shoulder. It's worth it to me. Thanks for the recipe Lee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I really liked the mix of seasonings in this recipe, though I would use fennel instead of anise next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States