Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This was great! I did not have any anise, so I substituted fennel seed- and left it whole. Very tasty! A bit too salty for our taste, next time I'll just reduce the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I use this for pizza topping as well. We can't use paprika or red peppers at my house but it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Very good but would add fennel seed next time and bit of oil to moisten. I froze patties and cooked when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
The spices in this receipe are fabulous. Simply the best ever italian sausage I have ever tasted. Very flavorful but not overpowering. The aroma of this sausage is tantilizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This is a very tasty sausage. I don't care for anise and substituted fennel seed. Since we had butchered a whole hog, I had the butcher prepare the fresh ground pork, and I made 10 lbs. of this recipe and froze it. Thanks, Lee, for this recipe and the one for breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Great. I could not find the plain ground pork so I used the Jimmy Dean sausage. I added the spices as specified. It was very good. I froz the leftovers for another pie. Next time I will not cook the sausage mixture until quite done. It got a little black in the oven. But tasted great. I made, also from this site, Jays Signature pizza crust and the easy pizza sauce. I am from NJ the home of great Pizza Pie and this was mixture was just as good as we have here. I will make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This is a very good start to any recipe asking for italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
The best. I triple this recipe and freeze a in portions. I then mix with ziti or manicotti when I make it. I highly recommend this sausage recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
we used turkey instead of pork. this tastes just like store bought! thak you so much. i have been looking for a Italian sausage recipe to make since i can't have all the bad stuff they put in packaged sausages. it is a keeper. 1st recipe in my box. thank you Lee. kris :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I also used ground turkey breast. I also used fennel instead of anise- it's what I had & I do like it! Threw some in some spaghetti sauce. I'll bet it will be great on pizza. I'd like to try it with the pork- maybe. I dunno. Pork is kinda nasty- except for bacon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States