Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This turned out very well. I used 3 lbs. of lean ground turkey and doubled the spices except for the anise seed, since I didn't have any. I can't wait to use it in all my favorite sausage recipes. I've been looking for a good recipe to make turkey sausage with and this fit the bill. Next time I may add more spice.;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Wonderful flavor. Good blend of spices. Really enjoyed. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This sausage is EXCELLENT and SO much healthier than commercial brands. I used 1-1/2 lbs. of regular ground turkey, and all the spices required for the 2 lbs. of pork, except that I cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp. and subbed 1/4 tsp. anise extract for the seeds. It made enough sausage topping for 2 large pizzas. VERY, VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I ended up using extra lean turkey (1g fat per serving) for this...and didn't like it at all!! :( I was hoping to use it in my lasagna (since lasagna is fattening in general, I was hoping to cut it down a bit!!) but it really didn't work well. In the future I may try regular fat turkey, or try lean ground pork. I really have faith that this will be a great recipe....just not with extra lean turkey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Absolutely wonderful. I used my own ground pork shoulder because it has an excellent fat to meat ratio that keeps the sausage moist without coming out greasy. Mix it up and put in the fridge overnight before either freezing or cooking so the flavors can mingle. I no longer buy store made sausage as I think this tastes much more superior than what is in the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I also used ground turkey breast. I also used fennel instead of anise- it's what I had & I do like it! Threw some in some spaghetti sauce. I'll bet it will be great on pizza. I'd like to try it with the pork- maybe. I dunno. Pork is kinda nasty- except for bacon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
we used turkey instead of pork. this tastes just like store bought! thak you so much. i have been looking for a Italian sausage recipe to make since i can't have all the bad stuff they put in packaged sausages. it is a keeper. 1st recipe in my box. thank you Lee. kris :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
The best. I triple this recipe and freeze a in portions. I then mix with ziti or manicotti when I make it. I highly recommend this sausage recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This is a very good start to any recipe asking for italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Great. I could not find the plain ground pork so I used the Jimmy Dean sausage. I added the spices as specified. It was very good. I froz the leftovers for another pie. Next time I will not cook the sausage mixture until quite done. It got a little black in the oven. But tasted great. I made, also from this site, Jays Signature pizza crust and the easy pizza sauce. I am from NJ the home of great Pizza Pie and this was mixture was just as good as we have here. I will make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States