Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Excellent! Used Jimmy Dean Regular Sausage. Now I can duplicate my favorite pizza place, which is now 400 miles away. Thanks for the Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I can't eat store-bought Italian Sausage because of all the junk they put in it, so this was a great find. I added a couple pinches of caraway seeds because it seemed to be missing something and it was perfect. My husband and two of my three kids liked it better than the stuff from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I didn't change the recipe at all and it turned out great. It's a little on the mild side, but that's what I was looking for. Next time I'll probably double the spices for even better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Wow. I was just looking for a way to use up the leftover ground pork from last night and I discovered the ONLY way I'll do italian sausage from now on. It's just as good as the stuff you get from the store and the ground pork I used was 96% lean. I didn't have anise, so I used fennel as a substitute like some other did and I discovered that I love the stuff. I even added extra. I left out the red peppers because of my picky seven year old, but did everything else according to the recipe. I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This turned out very well. I used 3 lbs. of lean ground turkey and doubled the spices except for the anise seed, since I didn't have any. I can't wait to use it in all my favorite sausage recipes. I've been looking for a good recipe to make turkey sausage with and this fit the bill. Next time I may add more spice.;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Wonderful flavor. Good blend of spices. Really enjoyed. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This sausage is EXCELLENT and SO much healthier than commercial brands. I used 1-1/2 lbs. of regular ground turkey, and all the spices required for the 2 lbs. of pork, except that I cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp. and subbed 1/4 tsp. anise extract for the seeds. It made enough sausage topping for 2 large pizzas. VERY, VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I ended up using extra lean turkey (1g fat per serving) for this...and didn't like it at all!! :( I was hoping to use it in my lasagna (since lasagna is fattening in general, I was hoping to cut it down a bit!!) but it really didn't work well. In the future I may try regular fat turkey, or try lean ground pork. I really have faith that this will be a great recipe....just not with extra lean turkey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Absolutely wonderful. I used my own ground pork shoulder because it has an excellent fat to meat ratio that keeps the sausage moist without coming out greasy. Mix it up and put in the fridge overnight before either freezing or cooking so the flavors can mingle. I no longer buy store made sausage as I think this tastes much more superior than what is in the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I also used ground turkey breast. I also used fennel instead of anise- it's what I had & I do like it! Threw some in some spaghetti sauce. I'll bet it will be great on pizza. I'd like to try it with the pork- maybe. I dunno. Pork is kinda nasty- except for bacon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States