Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I used these spices in 2 cups of rehydrated TVP (that's textured vegetable protein) instead of pork and my husband (who is NOT a vegetarian) loooooved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great basic recipe for Italian sausage. I grind my own pork or chicken to make it lean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Multiplied the ingredient amounts by 8 to season 11.5 lbs of ground venison. Only used 2 tsp of salt due to reviewers comments. Did not have dried onion in the pantry. Used 2 tsp crushed red pepper. This may be a keeper. I'm refrigerating the mix over night and will cook a sample in 24 hrs and adjust seasonings as needed before freezing portioned meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tate, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I don't eat pork so tried it with ground beef and used it with a pizza crust I found on here. Yummo! ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
To make this a little lighter (and maybe a little more cost effective, depending on how great your shopping skills are), you can substitute ground chicken or turkey for the ground pork and still have it come out tasting like italian sausage. This is one of my favorite go-to recipes for when I'm making breakfast sausage. Even my ground turkey/chicken hating husband loves this recipe. For a sweeter sausage flavor, I like to add either a tablespoon or so of brown sugar or maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe for turkey sausage! I did, of course, tweak it a bit. I added 1/2 the salt. I added fennel seed and used the Italian Seasoning from the Tuscany Bread Dipping Herbs that I get from the supermarket, in addition to all of the other herbs and spices. My husband loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I like this, I scale it down to 4 when I only have a pound of ground pork. This ups the spices and it's very good. Substitute fennel for anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was a good, simple recipe to follow. I don't like anise so I skipped that, but now I wish I read the reviews before cooking- I would have added fennel. I will definitely put this on my "try again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Great sausage recipe. I like to make my own and this one tastes just like the mild italian that you would purchase in a store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I liked the concept, but this didn't have enough seasonings. I would probably do this again, but add more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States