Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Love this recipe as long as I double the seasonings except for the salt. I used 3 tsp of salt. I also substituted the anise for whole fennel seeds. Fabulous flavor. Thank you for this recipe post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I also substituted fennel seed for the anise seed (used 1 tsp because we like fennel). Left out the salt entirely, and used ground turkey. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I did not have dried parsley, but other than that, I used everything else in the recipe. Delicious homemade sausage! I will reduce the crushed red pepper flakes next time for the kids, but boy was this flavorful and wonderful. Look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
All 8 of my kids and my husband have refused to go back to store bought sausage since trying this! I get pork roasts on sale and grind my own meat so there is almost no grease at all and having a large family, this makes sausage WAYYYYYY cheaper for us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Delicious. We used this recipe the last time we made lasagna and will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Authentic Italian sausage flavor! I subbed fennel for anise and added only a dash of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I used Hormel Spicy Pork sausage. It was definitely spicy, and I followed this recipe almost exactly (I used fennel seeds instead of anise.) So flavorful, and so delicious! This will become a staple for my dinner recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I used these spices in 2 cups of rehydrated TVP (that's textured vegetable protein) instead of pork and my husband (who is NOT a vegetarian) loooooved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great basic recipe for Italian sausage. I grind my own pork or chicken to make it lean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Multiplied the ingredient amounts by 8 to season 11.5 lbs of ground venison. Only used 2 tsp of salt due to reviewers comments. Did not have dried onion in the pantry. Used 2 tsp crushed red pepper. This may be a keeper. I'm refrigerating the mix over night and will cook a sample in 24 hrs and adjust seasonings as needed before freezing portioned meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tate, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States