Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was soo delicious! I had one pound of ground turkey that I needed to use up, and this was perfect. The measurements are spot on. When I buy some ground pork, I'll make pork sausage, but both ways are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I used this recipe for italian sausage because I could only find pork sausage at the store. It was wonderful!! I added this to the pizza casserole recipe I made for dinner!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babymama'10
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Now that i'm trying to cut down on salt, fat and preservative I search for recipes for much craved ready to cook foods. After reading some of the recipes here for homemade sausages, I've decided to try this one. Love love loved it. I made it with half beef and half chicken. Only other thing I did was added ground cloves and allspice. It is one of the best I've tasted. Next batch I'll add some oil to the mixture because this batch was little dry do to the fact that the ground meats I had on hand was very lean. Otherwise excellent recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Nice recipe. A bit too much salt for me (easily adjustable) and I too used fennel vs anise seed. I used the flavor profile as written but used different mediums on some (such as pasted roasted garlic, and finely minced sweet onion). Added a bit of a white balsamic and olive oil too. What I do (and suggest) regarding salt: start with 1/2 the salt, then, after allowing sausage to rest overnight, fry up a small portion and taste it cooked - add more salt and/or adj seasonings to your liking. Also: Got a big kick out of CountryRay (May 2010)review. Couldn't of said it better myself! Use the pork ppl :) I do grind my own using pork butt or shoulder. It's worth it to me. Thanks for the recipe Lee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I really liked the mix of seasonings in this recipe, though I would use fennel instead of anise next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Great start but a little under seasoned. Next time I'll add a bit more of the spices and possibly some fennel seeds as well. But I will certainly be keeping this recipe and using it over and over. I put it into my homemade marinara sauce and I was really pleased. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Really easy and delicious. I didn't have anise, so I left it out. I will be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Love this recipe as long as I double the seasonings except for the salt. I used 3 tsp of salt. I also substituted the anise for whole fennel seeds. Fabulous flavor. Thank you for this recipe post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I also substituted fennel seed for the anise seed (used 1 tsp because we like fennel). Left out the salt entirely, and used ground turkey. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I did not have dried parsley, but other than that, I used everything else in the recipe. Delicious homemade sausage! I will reduce the crushed red pepper flakes next time for the kids, but boy was this flavorful and wonderful. Look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States