Italian-Style Quinoa-Stuffed Sole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a really fast and easy dish, I couldn't believe how quick it was! The sole we had was a little too fishy (not an issue with the recipe of course), otherwise all of the flavors were great with it and helped tone down the fishy-ness. I love vinegar, so I'll add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minneapolis Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed this. I added baby spinach (just layed it overtop of the filling prior to folding the fish over). I sprinkled black pepper and a bit of sea salt over the fillets prior to filling. I added a couple of slices of orange sweet pepper to the top as well prior to broiling. I used chicken stock to cook the quinoa. Lots of flavor (surprisingly as other reviewers complained of a lack of flavor). Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The whole family liked it, which is saying alot. I did flip the fish after 3 minutes and cooked it for a few more minutes on the other side, it was perfectly done after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
We felt that this needed some more flavor--perhaps some onion or onion powder in the filling, and more Parmesan. Nevertheless, it was a decent fish dish, and certainly healthy. I was unable to get sole and used cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This dish was a nice combination of flavors. My husband said "wouldn't have expected quinoa in an Italian dish, but it went very well together." I did substitute Pangasius instead of Sole, which is a good alternative, I read on a site. The quinoa I cooked less time than was given - medium low, otherwise it would have scorched. My herbs were dry rather than fresh, but that was not a problem. I just did the dry to fresh reduction. Also my vinegar was apple cider - didn't have red wine. Due to the thickness of the fish and quinoa I did have to take it out of the oven after the 4 minutes and carefully flip it so the other side would cook in the broiler. All in all a good healthy meal! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I was worried this would be a little bland do to the low fat content, but it was surprisingly tasty. It was really quick and easy, too! I liked how versatile it is as well, you could toss anything you like into the quinoa stuffing. I will definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. My only difficulty was that it was a little bland. I'm on a lot of food restrictions, though, so I wanted to make this recipe work! Solution: GARLIC! I added 2 cloves of garlic to the quinoa as it cooked, and then sliced a 3rd clove and laid that over the sole before popping it in the oven. I also sprinkled a little sesame oil over all before tossing it in. I can't have spicy food right now... but should my stomach again be able to handle it, I would love to try this recipe with a little hot red pepper chopped fine and added into the mix. Someone try it and let me know how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Excellant - however, I combined the quinoa with the toasted almonds from the almond sole fillets. And stuffed the fillets. Worked out great! Will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I made this with modifications (of course, I cant help myself!) I jazzed up the quinoa by cooking in vegetable broth and adding some italian seasoning, mushrooms and asparagus because I had them and needed to use them up. Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine. Didnt have fresh lemon to put on top and think it would have made it even better. My husband (who I don't think was expecting much, by the way!) said it was really good and maybe we should add some lemon pepper to the top before baking and I will try that next time. This is probably a 3 star before modifications, and a 5 after, so am rating a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Prepared as described and had a few issues. First, had to change oven to bake to generate heat from underneath to get fish cooked thoroughly. Second, it was a bit bland. If I make this again I will add fresh oregeno and lemon juice to the stuffing. I do appreciate how healthy this recipe is and think it is worth experimenting with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make the perfect, super-fast weeknight fish recipe.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States