Italian Style Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I love pork chops so I make them once a week for my family.(they like them, too) No matter what I bread them with- crackers, bread crumbs-the secret is buying thin,lean pork chops and cooking them in a 400-425 oven for 15-20 minutes. I spray the pan with cooking spray and turn the chops after 10 min. They come out brown on the outside and juicy in the inside. I hope this information is helpful. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I read the other reviews and it seems like the only negative remarks were that the coating did not stick well and that the chops are too rich. With this in mind (and always thinking of the fat and calories!) I used just 1/2 cup of melted margarine mixed with 3/4 cup of buttermilk. The chops were just wonderful. I did have some coating left but only about a cup so I think the buttermilk makes the coating stick better. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. The chops were very moist and very tasty. I would not hesitate to seve this to guests. Thanks Marilyn for sharing this Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I eyeball a lot of ingredients when cooking and this recipe was no exception. I had a package of 6 pretty thin boneless pork chops and decided that 3 cups of saltines and two cups of cheese was way too much! I crushed up one package of crackers and used about a half cup of parmesan cheese. This still ended up to be too much but not by much. I'm always trying to reduce the fat and calories in my meals so I used a half cup of margarine instead of one of butter. I also found that after dipping the chops and coating them in the cracker mixture, that pushing the mix into the chops really helped to make it stick well. I have a gas stove that I'm still learning about (we just moved in) and it took 19 minutes at 400 degrees for them to cook through. I flipped them at ten minutes (as per another reviewer) and they were moist and very flavorful--not dry at all! My husband and I were very happy...Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Marilyn this recipe is great. I used 1 1/2 cups Ritz crackers instead. I used 1 cup of parmesan cheese since the other reviews said they had too much breading. I also took another suggestion from another reviewer and used a 1/2 cup of butter and 3/4 cup of buttermilk. I also seasoned my porkchops with a little accent, unseasoned meat tenderizer, pepper and a little seasoned salt and let it sit for an hour before I started the recipe. I made 7 pork chops. Oh My! Absolutely Awesome. My Husband and Kids Loved it. I was looking for something different and this did it! Thank you again Marilyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I have been making this recipe for a couple of years, and it's one of my favorites. It's quick and easy, and I love that it has a different flavor than most recipes. I always line my baking pan with some of the breading, mostly the crackers, and then sprinkle more over the top. That helps make the chops crispier, but I have never even come close to using all the breading mixture. I only use enough butter to coat the chops once, more than that and it gets soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
These were very good! I too cut the breading mixture in half, and baked mine on my pampered chef pizza stone. I'd definately make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I love pork chops. I would recoomend thin pork chops as the "most helpful" review suggested. The breading was a tad soggy. I had thicker pork chops and think this is the reason. Decrease the breading mixture. I will make again to attempt to give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Absolutely devine - I've made this recipe a few times now, though I cut it down to serve just two or three people. The original recipe has too much leftover "batter."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Very tasty and easy to make. I put the chops under the broiler for 5 minutes at the end because they got quite soggy while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This recipe ROCKS. I wanted to try something different and had all the ingredients, so decided to give it a try. My whole family went nuts.I am now going to try it on chicken. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States