Italian Style Meatloaf II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Nice and moist, but . . . there's no salt or pepper in the recipe. I divided the recipe and put salt and pepper in one half and none in the other. The unsalted loaf was insipid at best - little to no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Thanks for the recipe! I was on a mission to find a meatloaf recipe with almost exactly these ingredients - so happy the search is over and I have this one forever in my collection. I change carrots for diced green pepper and leave out the parsley, final dish cooked absolutely perfect all the way through, flavor was enhanced by tomato garlic gravy - yum yum! This was my 1st of what will be many Italian meatloaves! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
I always thought meatloaf had to be the shape and weight of a brick. This recipe is very moist and flavorful and easy to prepare. Please do not try to use a regular meatloaf pan, it's much too small and you will have to end up cutting your meatlaof down the center to finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I added chopped red & yellow peppers. Next time I will try adding mushrooms. I spread a mixture of tomato & bar-bq sauce atop. jrw of sarasota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I used this recipe as a starting point for my meatloaf. I love the meatloaf they serve at BJ's Brewery so I altered this to resemble it. I use half angus hamburger meat, and half plain ground pork. I saute the onion and garlic, but add finely chopped red and green bell pepper, celery and carrot to it as well. I also substitute the breadcrumbs with panko breading (italian seasoned if you can find it). I also throw in a heaping handful of finely grated parmesian cheese to the mix. I add a little garlic powder, salt, pepper, and oregeno to the mix too. All of these make an amazing flavored meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanierj83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Excellent recipe! It's easy to prepare and it's very tasty! My family, especially my children simply love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
AWESOME! I had a little trouble cooking it through - I think I made it too thick, and after 30 minutes when it was still fairly raw I smushed it and then it cooked fine. I used Emeril's Kicked Up Tomato Sauce and added a few mushrooms, and used stuffing mix instead of fresh breadcrumbs (the kind in a bag, not a box). My husband tried it and the first thing he said was "You could serve this for company!" Thanks for the keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
this was a yummie recipe my husband just love it. He smiled for two whole days and begged me to give him the recipe, which I refused,:) I follow all recipes the way they are written, but I always have to add my personal touch to it!!! I added oregano and wow!!! great recipe thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was a great recipe. It was very moist. I did not fix the tomatoe with sugar sauce. Instead, I added some tomatillo sauce, and it was absolutely wonderful! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This meal was a huge hit with my family. They loved how much flavor it had, and how it was not too dry like most meatloaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States