Italian Style Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is a phenomenal recipe--one of my favorites so far from this site. I did tweak it just a little. I used a little over 2 lbs of lean ground beef cause that's what I had. I used 1 cup of italian seasoned bread crumbs and 1/2 cup of sphagetti sauce instead of the ketchup. I also used the diced tomatoes with garlic and onion. This made 2 meat loaves for me. The texture was perfect; moist but held together well and the flavor was amazing. I served it with bowtie pasta tossed with parmesan and the rest of the jar of spaghetti sauce, garlic bread and steamed veggies. This was an easy and delicious meal that my family loved! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
HOLY COW! This is a fantastic meatloaf recipe. Do yourself a favor though. Use a non-stick meatloaf pan with a drainage insert so as to allow the grease from the hamburger and water from the toms to escape. Otherwise, it'll end up too moist to the point of falling apart. I baked mine for about 1:20, removing the foil and frosting the top with ketchup the last ten minutes. Served with egg noodles, buttered with parsley and Parmesan cheese, outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boo Daddy
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This meatloaf was delicious- the best I've ever had! Along with others who left comments, I made some adjustments. I used italian-style bread crumbs, canned tomatoes with garlic & onion, chunky pasta sauce instead of ketchup and added 1tsp dried parsley and a pinch of crushed black pepper. In addition, for the last 10 minutes of bake time I spread some pasta sauce atop the meatloaf and sprinkled it with grated parmesean. Served with garlic-parmesean mashed redskins and green beans. Buon appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Omgosh this is delicious. I used whole peeled tomatoes instead of diced because that's what I had on hand. I used 93 % ground beef and it was still so moist. I also added a bit of parmesan cheese. I had to cook it a bit longer too. It was the best meatloaf I've had in a while. My extremely picky daughter even ate it all up. Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
I will replace my old meatloaf recipe w/ this one. I too used Italian bread crumbs, cooked it for 1 1/2 hr w/ the last 20 minutes uncovered, & sprinkled Mozzarella on top for the last 5 minutes of baking. My husband said it made the best meatloaf sandwich he's ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
We love this recipe!! I use only half of the diced tomatoes, it seemed a little soupy. I also have a hard time getting it all to fit in one pan, I usually split it and make two smaller loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This meatloaf recipe is great! The Italian style versus the American Meatloaf! I do tweak it one tiny bit. Instead of the diced tomato in the meatloaf, I use a can of tomato soup with about 1/2 cup of water and spoon over the meatloaf when it's about 3/4 done. It makes the most delicous gravy! When doing this, you need to form the loaf and cook it in a casserole dish that can accomodate the gravy around the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I use the Brown Sugar Meatloaf recipe from this site as my "regular" meatloaf, but thought that I would try this one out. I was a bit disappointed with it. I do agree with another reviewer to cut down on some of the spices...it overpowered it a bit. I wish I knew why this wasn't as good as I had hoped. Thanks for the post anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This recipe was fabulous. My husband is an excellent chef, so it's very intimidating to cook for him. I made this for him and he absolutely loved it!!!!! Thank you sooooo much. Cheri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
Excellent. Tasty and quick to make. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States