Italian Style Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We thought this was a good meatloaf, but the fiance said he thought it should taste more tomato saucy. I actually used tomato sauce instead of ketchup, but I guess it wasn't enough! Thanks for a nice change, but I don't think this will be our new "go to" meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Delicious! What a great change from the traditional meatloaf. This will be a family favorite. All of my kids,ages 8,5,14 months, ate it up. I followed the recipe exactly except used 2 lbs meat only because that is what I had on hand. For the tomatoes I used the canned petite diced, the tomatoes were small enough to not make my kids want to pick them out. I served this with Campanelle pasta (made by Barilla and it's a fun shape for kids) with butter and lots of parmesan cheese, and also made a fruit salad to break up all the salty flavors. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I am not a meatloaf lover, but I really liked this recipe! Kind of like a giant meatball... I followed the recipe as is. Everyone in my family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is the best meatloaf recipe that I have ever tried. It needs to cook longer than what is suggested in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Tasty but a bit TOO moist. I would recommend removing the covering 1/2 way through to try to let some of the moisture out. Otherwise, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This turned out very tasty. It was really moist, even with me using a very low fat organic ground beef. I added some shredded parmesan and cut two slices of mozzarella into small cubes. This made for a few gooey cheese morsels in the loaf! Yummy. I would recommend draining the loaf at least once during cooking to get rid of some of the extra oils/fat. I topped mine with a layer of tomato sauce and some more shredded parm. Served it up with organic mashed potatoes and organic corn. Great winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this for my family tonight. As we ate they all spent the whole dinner telling me how delicious it was. My two kids gave it 5 stars and my 18 month old who won't eat meat ate every bite on his plate and asked for more! My hubby doesn't usually like meatloaf but he said "wow babe! This is amazing!" Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I am very picky about meatloaf, and I usually end up going back to my same boring recipe...until now. This was the best meatloaf I have made, and it was enjoyed by my entire family. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Exceeded my expectations. Even after reading the reviews, I was skeptical that it would be as good as everyone said. It's just meatloaf, right? But, really, this was SO good. My picky 3 year old even ate it. My 1 year old gobbled up seconds, and I had it reheated for dinner tonight, even better! Just don't add any more oregano than is called for, it'll be too over powering. I didn't have diced tomatoes, so I subbed a can of stewed tomatoes. Ate with mashed potatoes and steamed corn. A keeper, for sure! Also, I baked mine for an hour and 20 minutes, and drained the grease half way through baking, otherwise it would have run over and spilled all over my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was a great deviation from the normal boring meatloaf. I used sausage and pepper spaghetti sauce in place of the ketchup, used a can of crushed tomatoes, and used more cheese than what was called for. I also topped the meatloaf with some of the spaghetti sauce before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States