Italian Style Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I've been looking for something other than the traditional meatloaf and decided to try this one. My husband absolutely despises ketchup so I substituted chunky spaghetti sauce as another review suggested. I do not have a meatloaf pan so I formed a larger loaf (about 10 x 6 x 2) and baked it on a foil lined jelly roll pan. It turned out moist and delicious. Husband ate a second helping and said a couple of times that it was really good. Served it with angel hair pasta with butter and parmesan along with a bakery garlic loaf. This will be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Hubby and I enjoyed both the meal and the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
so moist and delicious! I add 3 cloves garlic, onion, and tomato sauce on top. if you wanna get healthy with it do half ground turkey hald ground beef-just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My boyfriend said this is the best meatloaf he has ever had. Although he wasen't thrilled with the tomatoes. Will definitely make this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples265

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I really like this meatloaf. I added finely chopped onions and green peppers and ended up using less then the full can of tomatoes. Also used a bit more bread crumbs and used a bit more Italian seasoning. Also added black pepper and cayenne and that worked great. The ground beef was 80/20, and it worked fine for a moist but not too greasy loaf. Not sure that the mozzarella is worth it. I couldn't really notice it inside the loaf and any that ended up on the outside melted and made a mess. Maybe adding the cheese in larger chunks inside the roll, or simply as a topping in slices would work better. I cooked this the way I do all meatloaf; uncovered, on an oiled broiler pan, with foil on the bottom of the pan for easy cleanup. I like the brown outside and the excess grease drips down. Smelled fantastic while cooking, and the leftovers rock! Served with mashed potatoes that had parmesan added. I'll be keeping this meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is definitely a keeper! My husband loved it. The bread crumbs I had on hand were Italian, so I left out the Italian seasoning. As another reviewer suggested, I used spaghetti sauce instead of ketchup. My can of diced tomatoes were seasoned with oregano, basil, and garlic. Not only was it delicious for dinner, the leftovers made tasty meatloaf sandwiches with provolone cheese and a little extra spaghetti sauce on a toasted hoagie bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzzingcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My husband -- who whined for years that meatloaf is disgusting -- LOVES this as do both of my kids. Have made it three times so far to rave reviews each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMOON
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
A very different twist on meatloaf! I splashed a little worscheser sauce into it, and forgot the garlic powder. (I thought it had enough salt into it from the canned tomatoes) It smelled like pizza, and it was done 1hr 10 mins. Very moist and lots of flavor, husband wasn't in the mood for meatloaf, but was glad I made it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Really tasty meatloaf. Used spaghetti sauce instead of ketchup and left out the tomatos. Forgot to add the cheese to the meat, so melted it on top instead. Also sauteed a small onion to add to the meat and used a large clove of garlic instead of the garlic salt. Baked on a broiler pan to let the grease drain through. Didn't make a super-firm meatloaf, but the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this. It is definitely our new meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States