Italian Style Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Trying to find simple and healthy recipes to cook. This was GREAT but I did add a few additions. Added a clove of fresh garlic chopped, a leaf of chopped fresh basil, and added a teaspoon of bread crumbs. I melted the butter and added the tomatoes, garlic, bread crumbs, lemon juice and spices to make a mixture. Then put the mixture on top of the flounder and baked as directed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
We love this recipe - it is sooo easy. However, instead of using fresh tomatoes - I just pour over the fish a 15 1/2 oz. can of diced tomatoes with garlic and onion (undrained). I also sprinkle on some garlic powder. Fast and easy to make. We love to serve it with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
We loved this, Susan. Instead of plain basil, I used an Italian dried herb mix as this was all I had on hand. I used extra tomato as others have suggested and also topped the fish with 2 tbsp of grated parmesan. The fish was so moist this way. I used a cheap fish from the supermarket and was amazed that the dish still tasted superb. This goes well with baked potatoes and the sauteed garlic asparagus recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This is a very simple but very flavorful recipe!! You can adjust spices to your particular liking. I used diced tomatoes from a can that were already seasoned with basil , oregano and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I was looking for an easy flounder recipe and I came across this...more than I bargained for! It was very simple and it was absolutely delicious. I received raves from my husband, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was great!! I made two adjustments based off of what I had on hand, I used 2 cloves fresh garlic diced, and a added a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomato. I really liked this! My husband and son thought it was ok, but I really enjoyed the flavor the seasonings gave to the tomatoes and the fish. I will definitely make this again! We served it with steamed green beans and linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I use this same basic recipe with frozen tilapia and sole about once a week, only varying the cooking time depending on how delicate or thin the fish is. I also usually do it in a skillet instead of the oven, so the fish doesn't overcook. Diced vine-ripened tomatoes is much better than canned. And I always add wine, letting it cook down and poach the fish a little after it's cooked in the butter and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was simple delicious! I didn't change a thing, except paring it down for just a single serving, but it was perfect. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
i am new to cooking fish and wanted a quick easy recipe.. found it! i read some other reviews and decided to tweak it the first time. Had some sole fillets, so i used those. I also used olive oil instead of butter. Then in the oil mixed the diced tomatoes with fresh crushed garlic, crushed chili peppers, dill, basil, oregano, salt & pep. I wanted to use bread crumbs but didn't have any on hand, so i chopped 4 almonds very fine and mixed that in too! Broiled until flaky! Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Delicious! I halved the recipe for two fillets and it came out perfectly. I did not try adding the cheese but it was great without it. Next time I might add a little more diced tomato. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States