Italian Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I just won my office's chili cook off with this recipe. Like others I substituted spicy Italian sausage for the ground beef and I diced the pepperoni. We also added chopped green bell pepper as others suggested. We also upped the chili powder a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was a fantastic chili! I make chili once a year for my job'a annual chili cook off and I tried this one and it was the only crock pot to be emptied and I won - easily. Very easy to prepare and tasty - and I don't even like chili! This is a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ Costante
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
When I first looked her, two of five reviewers here won first place in their chili cook-offs. Imagine my surprise when my Italian Chili also won First Place! That was against seven other chilis with 21 tasters and mine was the first one served! By the way, I only made the chili once before to prep for the contest. I let it 'slow' cook for 12 hours till the 1 pm contest time and it was great. For the contest I added one long green pepper, one green pepper, more mushrooms, one Mild Italian sausage link. The rest was per the recipe. Comments were: nice texture, surprising to find pepperoni salami, great sauce taste, the mushrooms were a nice addition, sauce just hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was very good and very different from the standard chili - which is what I was after! I did change a few things and used spicy italian sausage in place of the beef, fresh baby bella mushrooms instead of canned, more chili powder, added about a teaspoon of cumin, a couple of tablespoons of minced garlic, and used pepparoni sausages which were diced instead of using slices of them. Also threw in a chopped green bell pepper and some red pepper flakes. I cooked this in the slow cooker (cooking the meat, pepper and onion the night before) and came home to a great meal. Even a friend, who normally hates chili, gave this one two thumbs up. Thanks, I am sure I'll try this one again when in need of something chili - with a twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Delicious and different! I made this because I didn't want to have to live up to a family member's traditional style chili that we all rave about. I figured this would be a great compromise. I've made this a few times now. My husband requests it often. I usually make a double batch, but I use half ground beef & half sweet Italian sausage. I use fresh mushrooms, and add extra, because the mushrooms are really stand-out in this recipe. I've used 1 can kidney and 1 can cannellini beans, but I think I'm switching to all cannellini, because they really are terrific with these flavors. Now my family thinks of this as MY chili and it's not just the other family member whose praises are sung!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I was really excited when I read this recipe. This was my first time making chili but all of the ingredients sounded great. I made this in the crock pot, let it cook for 8 hours. I added garlic. These 2 things are the only differences, otherwise I made the recipe as instructed. My husband and I both felt that this did not feel like chili. It felt like an awesome spaghetti sauce instead. It is also mild (but tasty), so if you decide to make this and desire spicy you'll want to add some extra kick to this. I am sad that we feel this way because all of the other reviews made me extra excited for this. Sorry though... next time I make it I'm gonna leave out the beans and pour it over noodles. Maybe it's just us, but that's how we felt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe! It gave a nice twist on the same old chili recipe. Also, my son - who is 10 - usually doesn't want to eat the regular chili, but gobbles this up. I did enter this in a contest (there were 25 other contestants) and everyone, especially the kids, loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was a great recipe! I do not eat chili, but I make it for my company's annual chili cook off. This is only the 2nd pot of chili I have ever made! And out of 14 pots including some from local restaraunts, I won first place! Eveyone asked for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
My mother used to make a dish very similar and it was everyone's favorite! This was delicious. It is definitly different than your average chili, but very good. I will definitely make this again. Don't pass this up, you will love it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I love this! I added 3 cloves of garlic and used diced pepperoni. It's definitely different from a typical chili which I love - it means I can make both without chili overload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States