Italian Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Really good variation of the standard chili! A couple of changes:I doubled the chili powder, used pound of fresh sliced mushrooms, added 2TBS of minced garlic and added some red pepper flakes. I simmered on the stove for 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
My husband and I both LOVED this chili recipe. It was so delicious. We had the leftovers the next night. I added a dollop of sour cream to each bowl after I dished it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I make this often as it is quick and easy, healthy and tastes great. I use a whole pkg of veggie "pepperoni" and an additional can of beans but otherwise follow the recipe. A nice change from the usual Tex-Mex chili I make and my whole family thinks it's just great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Delicious and different! I made this because I didn't want to have to live up to a family member's traditional style chili that we all rave about. I figured this would be a great compromise. I've made this a few times now. My husband requests it often. I usually make a double batch, but I use half ground beef & half sweet Italian sausage. I use fresh mushrooms, and add extra, because the mushrooms are really stand-out in this recipe. I've used 1 can kidney and 1 can cannellini beans, but I think I'm switching to all cannellini, because they really are terrific with these flavors. Now my family thinks of this as MY chili and it's not just the other family member whose praises are sung!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe. I love chili and this one is one of the best by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I was fairly disappointed in this recipe. Like other reviewers, I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef. The resulting chili was pretty standard, hence the three stars. It wasn't bad but it was nothing special. Certainly nothing that I would have expected to win a chili cook-off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This seemed like a good chili for a cold, snowy day. It was a hit with family and friends. I used fresh mushrooms and will add chopped bell pepper next time. My husband said, "hang on to this recipe"! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I followed the recipe and squelched my usual tendency to modify a recipe, so I could get a good sense of this recipe as-is. The only variation was to use a slow-cooker. The result was good, but unexceptional. I will probably keep looking for a better recipe, but if you'd like to try this one I'd recommend using italian sausage rather than ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
My 2 year old loved this -- it struck me as a nice hearty pasta sauce -- with kidney beans. I must be missing the point, but I won't repeat this recipe. I gave it 4 stars because of my 2 year olds enthusiasm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEAOTTER89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
We really loved this! Like many others who reviewed this recipe, I won our Supper Club chili cookoff with this, as it was so different from the usual kind of chili. Doubled the recipe and moved it to a crockpot to cook for a few hours, changed the meat to 1 lb mild Italian sausage/1 lb spicy...titled it "Fix it and Fuhgedaboudit" (title of chili counted in the judging criteria ; ) - thanks for the new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States