Italian Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very good. I had to leave out the pepperoni because I didn't have it. I used 2 TB taco seasoning instead of the chili powder for more flavor. I will probably try this again with italian sausage and pepperoni and the taco seasoning. Another great recipe to jazz up dollar store spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent! Easy to make and very tasty. To suit our personal tastes, I added some green bell pepper, garlic and extra chili powder. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
It was ok for something different but I have to agree with the lady who said it was more like a spaghetti sauce not like a chili. I will try like her and serve over noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this for a chili cook off and got 2nd place for Most Original! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I was really excited when I read this recipe. This was my first time making chili but all of the ingredients sounded great. I made this in the crock pot, let it cook for 8 hours. I added garlic. These 2 things are the only differences, otherwise I made the recipe as instructed. My husband and I both felt that this did not feel like chili. It felt like an awesome spaghetti sauce instead. It is also mild (but tasty), so if you decide to make this and desire spicy you'll want to add some extra kick to this. I am sad that we feel this way because all of the other reviews made me extra excited for this. Sorry though... next time I make it I'm gonna leave out the beans and pour it over noodles. Maybe it's just us, but that's how we felt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I just finished serving it! I never made homemade chili! And everytime I would eat it at resaurants, I wasn't too thrilled about the taste..This was very good. I did increase the chili powder and sugar amount..a dash here and there...I will never order chili again...I will make it at home....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This has become a staple in our household. My wife absolutely LOVES it!! I changed it up just a bit after reading the other posts. I added Itallian sausage rather than hamburger. Also, since we are not a huge fan of beans in our chili, I left these out. I have made this recipe for family gatherings and potlucks. It's a crowd favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Absolutely LOVE this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Very tasty! I served it w/Garlic Bread and sour cream, and we both had seconds - and very pleasingly stuffed! Will definately be a repeat due to ease and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cegirls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whiting, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I too used this recipe for a chili cook off and I won the people's choice award!!! I've since made it several times and enjoy it every time. Regarding substitutions, I think I've added spicy hot italian sausage in place of one of the beefs (I was doubling the recipe). Also, I've added hot sauce to taste to give it a bit more zip. Other than that, it is a great recipe and I highly recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States