Italian Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
My mother used to make a dish very similar and it was everyone's favorite! This was delicious. It is definitly different than your average chili, but very good. I will definitely make this again. Don't pass this up, you will love it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was a fantastic chili! I make chili once a year for my job'a annual chili cook off and I tried this one and it was the only crock pot to be emptied and I won - easily. Very easy to prepare and tasty - and I don't even like chili! This is a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was a great recipe! I do not eat chili, but I make it for my company's annual chili cook off. This is only the 2nd pot of chili I have ever made! And out of 14 pots including some from local restaraunts, I won first place! Eveyone asked for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I have to admit when I saw the ingredients I was a little skeptical. Boy was I wrong! I actually made this because I needed a left over ground beef recipe. This is delish! We had it for dinner, and I actually hid the leftovers in the back of the refridge so I could have it for lunch the next day. Very good recipe. Tangy and hearty. Will not dissapoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe! It gave a nice twist on the same old chili recipe. Also, my son - who is 10 - usually doesn't want to eat the regular chili, but gobbles this up. I did enter this in a contest (there were 25 other contestants) and everyone, especially the kids, loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ Costante
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
When I first looked her, two of five reviewers here won first place in their chili cook-offs. Imagine my surprise when my Italian Chili also won First Place! That was against seven other chilis with 21 tasters and mine was the first one served! By the way, I only made the chili once before to prep for the contest. I let it 'slow' cook for 12 hours till the 1 pm contest time and it was great. For the contest I added one long green pepper, one green pepper, more mushrooms, one Mild Italian sausage link. The rest was per the recipe. Comments were: nice texture, surprising to find pepperoni salami, great sauce taste, the mushrooms were a nice addition, sauce just hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I just won my office's chili cook off with this recipe. Like others I substituted spicy Italian sausage for the ground beef and I diced the pepperoni. We also added chopped green bell pepper as others suggested. We also upped the chili powder a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Thanks to this recipe and the wonderful people who reviewed it and offered suggestions, I also won my company's Chili Cook-off. I won by a landslide and in every category. I used both ground beef and italian susauge. I added about a tablespoon of minced garlic and a teaspoon of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This recipe is fantastic, I added vegetables to mine. Really good, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
WOW - this is a DELICIOUS! Like some of the others, I added a green pepper and some garlic. This one's still simmering on the stove, but I can't keep my "tasting spoon" out of the pot! Thank you so much for this fantastic recipe - we will be enjoying this again and again. UPDATE: I microwave the sliced pepperoni between 2 paper towels for about 30 seconds to absorb some of the oil. We heat this in the slow cooker on low for a few hours to let everything meld together. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States