Italian Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I too used this recipe for a chili cook off and I won the people's choice award!!! I've since made it several times and enjoy it every time. Regarding substitutions, I think I've added spicy hot italian sausage in place of one of the beefs (I was doubling the recipe). Also, I've added hot sauce to taste to give it a bit more zip. Other than that, it is a great recipe and I highly recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Really good variation of the standard chili! A couple of changes:I doubled the chili powder, used pound of fresh sliced mushrooms, added 2TBS of minced garlic and added some red pepper flakes. I simmered on the stove for 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
My husband and I both LOVED this chili recipe. It was so delicious. We had the leftovers the next night. I added a dollop of sour cream to each bowl after I dished it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I make this often as it is quick and easy, healthy and tastes great. I use a whole pkg of veggie "pepperoni" and an additional can of beans but otherwise follow the recipe. A nice change from the usual Tex-Mex chili I make and my whole family thinks it's just great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Delicious and different! I made this because I didn't want to have to live up to a family member's traditional style chili that we all rave about. I figured this would be a great compromise. I've made this a few times now. My husband requests it often. I usually make a double batch, but I use half ground beef & half sweet Italian sausage. I use fresh mushrooms, and add extra, because the mushrooms are really stand-out in this recipe. I've used 1 can kidney and 1 can cannellini beans, but I think I'm switching to all cannellini, because they really are terrific with these flavors. Now my family thinks of this as MY chili and it's not just the other family member whose praises are sung!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe. I love chili and this one is one of the best by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I was fairly disappointed in this recipe. Like other reviewers, I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef. The resulting chili was pretty standard, hence the three stars. It wasn't bad but it was nothing special. Certainly nothing that I would have expected to win a chili cook-off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This seemed like a good chili for a cold, snowy day. It was a hit with family and friends. I used fresh mushrooms and will add chopped bell pepper next time. My husband said, "hang on to this recipe"! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I followed the recipe and squelched my usual tendency to modify a recipe, so I could get a good sense of this recipe as-is. The only variation was to use a slow-cooker. The result was good, but unexceptional. I will probably keep looking for a better recipe, but if you'd like to try this one I'd recommend using italian sausage rather than ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
My 2 year old loved this -- it struck me as a nice hearty pasta sauce -- with kidney beans. I must be missing the point, but I won't repeat this recipe. I gave it 4 stars because of my 2 year olds enthusiasm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEAOTTER89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States