Italian Style Brunch Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Pretty good, needs something but no one seems to know what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Though listed as a veggie breakfast, the pepperoni is decidedly un-veggie. Once removed, this is a splendid Italian veggie pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These are good! Next time I'm going to increase the Italian seasoning, add garlic, and maybe throw in a dash of red pepper flakes. We ate them with a bit of sauce and extra cheese on top and I sauteed zucchini to go on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Recipe Group Recipe****Very good! My kids loved these and were asking me when we would have the pizza cakes again while they were still eating them :) I did change the recipe a little. I didn't have red bell pepper so I used all green, added garlic powder and extra Italian seasoning. I used the little mini pepperoni's and they worked great in this recipe perfect size for the cakes. The kids liked these dipped in pizza sauce I wasn't to fond of it that way but I did use some soft Swiss cheese spread on top and that was awesome. Thanks for the recipe I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These savory pancakes are a really neat idea. I can see a lot of ways to adjust the spices & ingredients to suit your own palate. As it stands, this was not exactly perfect for us, but it's still a solid recipe. 4.5 stars, thanks Recipe Group for choosing this one -- I'd had it in my box forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These were great, I knew my boys would love them-they are pizza flavoured. After making the first batch and tasting them, I added a little more Italian spice (preference) then I fried them in long stips rather than pancakes. When they cooled I cut the strips in half lengthwise-perfect dipping fingers. Sent them for lunch with a side of pizza sauce-tomato paste, chicken broth, Italian spice, parmesean cheese, and garlic. I will make again, thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 02, April '11. I am giving this 4-stars because I did not follow the exact recipe. I down sized it to 4 servings and got 4 nice size cakes. I used ham (on hand) instead of the pepperoni and salsa rather than the pizza sauce. All other ingredients were used. I doubt I would have tried these if it weren't for the group challenge. I liked them and will be sharing with my family at the lake for a "different" weekend breakfast this summer. Thanks Sal for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
First off made two changes, I used canadian bacon and pepperoni bits in place of sausage. I aslo left out onion and tomato, plus I did half a batch. My family loved these served with pizza sauce for duncking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettypinktulips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Recipe Group selection 4/2/11. What a great addition to our usual Sunday brunch. The only change I made was to omit the pepperoni so our vegetarian guests could eat them. Good job, Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Made these for Recipe Group, and thought they were really yummy! I halved the recipe, and got 11 cakes out of it. I used mozzarella cheese instead of the monterey jack, because that's what I had, and added in some parmesan cheese and garlic powder just for something extra. These were actually kind of fun to make, and I had everything on hand which made it even better! I chopped everything fairly small, including the pepperoni to ensure a nice distribution. Not sure what else you would serve with these though, but they were a great snack/appetizer on their own w/ a great pizza flavor. I actually preferred them not dipped in any sauce, but the guys liked them w/ the sauce. We were all happy campers w/ this recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States