Italian Style Brunch Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This is wonderful! My family just loved it! I didn't do them brunch size, made like regular pancakes and served with pizza sauce...GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Fabulous! A great alternative to regular old weekend breakfast or brunch. I was concerned that this would make too much, but it almost wasn't enough! The only change was that I left out pizza sauce because I didn't have any. It was still excellent. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Made these for Recipe Group, and thought they were really yummy! I halved the recipe, and got 11 cakes out of it. I used mozzarella cheese instead of the monterey jack, because that's what I had, and added in some parmesan cheese and garlic powder just for something extra. These were actually kind of fun to make, and I had everything on hand which made it even better! I chopped everything fairly small, including the pepperoni to ensure a nice distribution. Not sure what else you would serve with these though, but they were a great snack/appetizer on their own w/ a great pizza flavor. I actually preferred them not dipped in any sauce, but the guys liked them w/ the sauce. We were all happy campers w/ this recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Recipe Group selection 4/2/11. What a great addition to our usual Sunday brunch. The only change I made was to omit the pepperoni so our vegetarian guests could eat them. Good job, Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
My 9 year old loves these and has nicknamed them 'pizza pancakes'! Keep the batter thin and keep them small to ensure they cook through. We also cut back on the green and red pepper. (Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I adusted this recipe a bit by leaving out the green pepper and using ham in place of sausage. These are savory pizza pancakes (not nearly as elegant sounding as their name) and pretty tasty. They received thumbs up from everyone. I scaled the recipe to half the original and made them bigger than suggested, yielding 14 small pancakes. Note that they take a long time to cook. It says 20 minutes under 'cook time' which was true of mine, but the directions just say to brown on both sides. I only read the directions and didn't pay attention to the stated cook time, so I was caught off guard thinking they would take about as long as typical pancakes. These were delicious and different and I'm happy to have a new alternative for breakfast, especially one that is popular with kids and adults alike. Definitely serve with pizza sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
without a picture, i wasn't sure how these would look or turn out, but they came out very well! I had to flip them a few more times than i would a regular pancake, but to delicious results. the batter kept in the fridge for a day (that's how long it lasted) and cooked up even better and tastier the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Recipe Group Recipe****Very good! My kids loved these and were asking me when we would have the pizza cakes again while they were still eating them :) I did change the recipe a little. I didn't have red bell pepper so I used all green, added garlic powder and extra Italian seasoning. I used the little mini pepperoni's and they worked great in this recipe perfect size for the cakes. The kids liked these dipped in pizza sauce I wasn't to fond of it that way but I did use some soft Swiss cheese spread on top and that was awesome. Thanks for the recipe I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
First off made two changes, I used canadian bacon and pepperoni bits in place of sausage. I aslo left out onion and tomato, plus I did half a batch. My family loved these served with pizza sauce for duncking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettypinktulips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These are good! Next time I'm going to increase the Italian seasoning, add garlic, and maybe throw in a dash of red pepper flakes. We ate them with a bit of sauce and extra cheese on top and I sauteed zucchini to go on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States