Italian Style Brunch Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Pretty good, needs something but no one seems to know what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Though listed as a veggie breakfast, the pepperoni is decidedly un-veggie. Once removed, this is a splendid Italian veggie pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These are good! Next time I'm going to increase the Italian seasoning, add garlic, and maybe throw in a dash of red pepper flakes. We ate them with a bit of sauce and extra cheese on top and I sauteed zucchini to go on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Recipe Group Recipe****Very good! My kids loved these and were asking me when we would have the pizza cakes again while they were still eating them :) I did change the recipe a little. I didn't have red bell pepper so I used all green, added garlic powder and extra Italian seasoning. I used the little mini pepperoni's and they worked great in this recipe perfect size for the cakes. The kids liked these dipped in pizza sauce I wasn't to fond of it that way but I did use some soft Swiss cheese spread on top and that was awesome. Thanks for the recipe I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These savory pancakes are a really neat idea. I can see a lot of ways to adjust the spices & ingredients to suit your own palate. As it stands, this was not exactly perfect for us, but it's still a solid recipe. 4.5 stars, thanks Recipe Group for choosing this one -- I'd had it in my box forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These were great, I knew my boys would love them-they are pizza flavoured. After making the first batch and tasting them, I added a little more Italian spice (preference) then I fried them in long stips rather than pancakes. When they cooled I cut the strips in half lengthwise-perfect dipping fingers. Sent them for lunch with a side of pizza sauce-tomato paste, chicken broth, Italian spice, parmesean cheese, and garlic. I will make again, thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 02, April '11. I am giving this 4-stars because I did not follow the exact recipe. I down sized it to 4 servings and got 4 nice size cakes. I used ham (on hand) instead of the pepperoni and salsa rather than the pizza sauce. All other ingredients were used. I doubt I would have tried these if it weren't for the group challenge. I liked them and will be sharing with my family at the lake for a "different" weekend breakfast this summer. Thanks Sal for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
First off made two changes, I used canadian bacon and pepperoni bits in place of sausage. I aslo left out onion and tomato, plus I did half a batch. My family loved these served with pizza sauce for duncking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettypinktulips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Recipe Group selection 4/2/11. What a great addition to our usual Sunday brunch. The only change I made was to omit the pepperoni so our vegetarian guests could eat them. Good job, Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Made these for Recipe Group, and thought they were really yummy! I halved the recipe, and got 11 cakes out of it. I used mozzarella cheese instead of the monterey jack, because that's what I had, and added in some parmesan cheese and garlic powder just for something extra. These were actually kind of fun to make, and I had everything on hand which made it even better! I chopped everything fairly small, including the pepperoni to ensure a nice distribution. Not sure what else you would serve with these though, but they were a great snack/appetizer on their own w/ a great pizza flavor. I actually preferred them not dipped in any sauce, but the guys liked them w/ the sauce. We were all happy campers w/ this recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States