Italian Style Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This turned out very good. I had all the water/spices already in the crock pot when I realized I only had a 2.5 lb roast. It came out great--lots of flavor, a little too much water, but it was fine. Some reviews say it came out bland, so maybe use a smaller roast or double the other ingredients. I cooked it for 10 hours, and it was so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was amazing! Did not change anything. Thanks for posting! Never buying store Italian beef again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These sandwiches turned out great. I followed the recipe as written and my family asked for seconds. There was enough meat leftover for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
EXCELLENT! I was out of a seasoning mix I use and looking for a recipe that used the spices instead of a mix. Found this one and deviated slightly. I added an Aus Jur mix to the water and the last 30-45 min of cooking added some whole button mushrooms and served on the side with peppercinis. So good! Lot of broth left for soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Awesome! I used venison roast, and added an onion, cut in strips. It was awesome. No one could tell that it was venison. Absolutely no gamey taste at all. I slow cooked on high for about 5 hours, maybe a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Fantastic, easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
this has become my favorite recipe for italian beef, BUT i do not use the stir fry mix they suggest. instead i add a jar of mild pepperocini's with the juice, and it is the perfect thing to boost the flavor. i've made it without the pepperocinis too and it just wasn't the same. they make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I had very high hopes going into this one. I made it for Superbowl Sunday. It was ok. Used 4.2 lb roast. Cooked 9 hrs on low. Came out perfect. Flavor just wasn't there like I had hoped for. There were no leftovers however. Maybe less water would help this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I used fresh peppers but otherwise followed the recipe. I thought it was great but my husband liked it better the next day when I turned it into bbq sandwiches by just adding a bottle of bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrilynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I was not very impressed with this recipe. Granted I didn't use the peppers because I was out but still wasn't that great. I guess the peppers are relied on for most of the flavor because this didn't have much without them. About an hour before serving I ended up adding a jar of au ju gravy to help the flavor. Might make again with the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States