Italian Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I tried it and made a few additions.I peeled the tomatoes then let them sit for a few hours until I got back to them. Poured off the liquid then chopped them. Not too runny at all. I found it bland so I added salt/pepper/tobasco sauce to taste to give it some umpf. I cooked it for 20 min. instead of the 10. Tastes great. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
When you click on the kitchen friendly view, a different recipe pops up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimarie Anne Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very good making this from fresh tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
For those of you who have canned this recipe, did you add lemon juice before canning? I'm kind of a newbie to canning and I've never done tomatoes before. But everything I've read says you have to add some acid, most call for lemon juice, to keep the acid level high enough. Any advice would be appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuAnne Chavez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I'm a fan of slow cooking; I had 4 pounds of past-prime, wrinkled grape tomatoes and thought this recipe might work with a slow cooker. I wasn't disappointed! I didn't have celery, so I didn't use it. I added one chopped raw onion. I also added Italian seasoning and garlic, as some other reviewers did. I didn't peel the tomatoes, but I cooked them as-is, on low heat, overnight. It was so good, in fact, that I'm going to make it again, this time with Roma and beefsteak tomatoes. It tasted delicious when I combined it with our rice-cooker rice "mixture" that I made (1/2 cup rice, 1/2 cup spelt, 1/2 cup quinoa, 1/2 cup barley, 1/2 cup millet, 1/2 cup chopped onion). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James and Nama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is an awesome recipe - I used it in my chili recipe and it was a homerun with my hubby. He said he could taste the freshness of the sauce. I made the following changes: I used roma tomatoes(it was what I had on hand), I sauteed fresh minced garlic and added to the other ingredients, I used honey versus sugar (for dietary reasons)and I added to the seasoning oregano, rosemary and an italian medley blend. I will be using this recipe for all my future chili dishes and any others that call for stewed tomatoes. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I winged this as I was in a pinch. I needed stewed tomatos but didn't have fresh maters. I followed the recipe to a t with the exception of the basil and mixed it with 2 cans of petite diced tomatos that I had in the pantry rather than fresh. I thought they were better than canned stewed (better fresher flavor even though I didn't go the fresh route) not as good as" garden fresh" but in a pinch works very well with what you have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The first time i made this recipe it was a little watery, So as suggested by another review i let the tomatoes drain in a collander overnight. 100% better. PS. I added garlic and chopped jalapenos. Five stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Very, Very tasty and I added 2 cloves of garlic to boot. Great for adding to a round roast of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
this is a good start for tom sauce ,made some changes and added shredded carrot intead of surgar an italian friend told about that for sweetness added garam masala and turned it into a great indian tom sauce great with squash also added tom paste at the end to smooth it out i love playing with recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States