Italian Spinach Sausage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This is a good recipe. I will say that it was pretty heavy. The double crust makes this a dense dish. I wonder how it would taste with philo instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I just didn't use the salt or garlic & increased the ricotta to 15oz container. Too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I had something like this when I was a teenager and have been searching for the recipe ever since. It was a tad salty for my taste, so I'll omit the salt next time. I made my own crust as well. I'm thinking of making this in mini turnover form for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaSunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Loved it - Tripled the recipe but only used 1 lb sausage and the 2 packs of spinach - added an extra egg and some Mrs. Dash - Instead of a pie crust - used three Jiffy cornbread mix- mixed as directed on box. spread in a greased 11x13 pan and baked ten minutes -Pulled crust out of oven partly cooked and spread filling on top - Baked 50 minutes as directed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is a really good pie! From the rave reviews of my family, definitely a 5-star recipe. My only reason for rating a 4 is because of the 'bland' cheese blend and as many others have stated, it makes too much filling. You must use the deep dish pie pan. I'm going to make this again in a couple of weeks and try a couple different cheeses with perhaps a spicy italian sausage rather than a mild. This pie is definitely for those with a hearty appetite, I cut it into 8 slices and couldn't finish a whole one - it was great with a little salsa on the side as well. Kudo's - yet another great recipe on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was a huge hit. I did not put a top crust on though. It didn't need it. I use Dorie Greenspan's Good for Just About Anything Pie Crust and highly recommend it. It comes out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I’ve also been making this recipe for 20+ years. It looks beautiful, travels very well, and tastes great right out of the oven, at room temp, or reheated. It is guaranteed to get devoured at pot lucks. Lately I reduce the fat content by using chicken sausage, 2 cups of lowfat cheese, lowfat cottage cheese for the ricotta, and only one crust, which I put it on top because I it looks and tastes better than using just one crust on the bottom. It’ll cook in about an hour without the bottom crust. I also add a can of mushrooms (no point in using fresh in a recipe like this), sometimes some onions, and I use real garlic and more black pepper. I add these to the sausage while it’s browning to meld the flavors a little. I think the variations in spiciness are due to the sausage that people use. I don’t really care for mild sausage in this recipe. If you want more flavor, use hot sausage or add some red pepper flakes, fennel and sautéed onions. Make sure to squeeze the spinach really dry. It does make a lot and you’ll need to use a large pie pan. I’d say it more like twelve servings, not eight. I use a ceramic pan that is about 11” across and 2 ½” deep. Those ones that the frozen pie crust comes in will not be big enough even though they say ‘deep dish’. You can mound the filling up to make it all fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Wonderful, did use tofu sausage instead of real sausage and added garlic and onion while tofu was cooking. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chesterfield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
OK, but not worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Took it for co-workers, they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States