Italian Spinach Sausage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Really good....used hot and sweet Italian sausage that was grilled, leftover, and sliced, also used low fat part skim ricotta cheese, pecorino romano, and provolone cheeses. I did not use a crust! I made this frittata style in a deep dish pie plate and upped the eggs to 8. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ovenmitt2
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is one of my family's favorite meals! Very easy and even people who are not fans of spinach or sausage LOVE IT! I want to bring it to events to share its so good! One big tip, LET IT REST when it's done, it will firm up! I would say at least 15 min. to 1/2 hour. Also, this would be even better (if possible) with a side of spaghetti or pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ovenmitt2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexandra
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
We made this last night for dinner because we had sausage that we didn't know what to do with. The old recipes get so boring. This was AH-MAZING! So good! The ricotta made it very rich and delicious. I only put 4 cups of the mozz cheese, but it was still cheesy delicious. We will definitely make this recipe part of our routine dinners. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy Ainslie
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I tried this recipe as 4 - 1 cup tarts and it worked well. I halved all the ingredients except the pie crust and used low-fat ricotta. I cut each of the pie crusts into quarters and placed a piece in the bottom of each lightly greased non-stick tart pan. The filling divided up evenly and I topped it with another quarter of the crust. I trimmed the crust a bit and baked at 375 degrees for 35 minutes. I let it set for 15 or so minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Wonderful!! I followed the recipe to a T & it turned out perfect. I was a little weary about 5C of cheese but it was not too gooey @ all. There is quite a lot of filling. Since I do not have a deeper pie dish, I used a shallow one in addition to a square glass casserole dish. I just doubled up on pie crust. It was nice to have an additional meal to share with a neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
We really liked it, will make again. The only change was to add a good heaping tablespoon of chopped garlic since we are garlic lovers. My 9.5" pie plate was full and this was rich. As I do with fruit pies, I covered the crust with foil for the first half of baking to make sure the crust doesn't burn. I cooked for 60 minutes; the crust was golden brown, though the pie never did bubble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was a great recipe. I used a deep dish pie plate. I made my own pastry and it was really flaky as shown in my photo. I would like to try the recipe in a 9 x 13 casserole dish and cut into smaller servings to feed a crowd. I think next time I will not use the yolk to brush the crust and instead use an egg white wash. I may add some finely chopped onion to the filling next time. The Italian sausage I used did not have an over powering flavor of fennel and we liked that as we are not big fans of strong fennel. Served this with a side of fresh fruit salad. It is a keeper! Thanks for sharing your recipe Kimberly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe. My 2 year old that only wants meat and cheese ate it all! I did make one change. I didn't realize that my pie crust wasn't a deep dish until I was ready to pour in the ingredients. You will need a deep dish if you are using a pie crust because of the volume. I greased a casserole dish, spread 6 slices of whole wheat bread on the bottom and poured the mixture on top of it. I removed the regular pie crusts from the pans and creatively placed them on top of the mixture. I still worked out WELL! I will be repeating this recipe--with or without the modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Very cheesy and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I had high expectations for this after reading all the rave reviews, but I made it exactly as written and it didn't have much flavor. My 7-year-old was the first to say, "It doesn't taste like anything," and I agreed. It wasn't terrible, but if I make it again I'll be sure to crush some garlic in there and maybe add some Italian seasoning and/or some tomato pieces with the seeds squeezed out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States