Italian Special Sweet Fried Ravioli Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
My family had made these when I was young, but lost the recipe. This seems close! We called them "caljunes" or "caljunettis."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My Nana used to make these during the Christmas and Easter holidays. We used to call them "cecilottala". The only difference in Nana's recipe was that she would use ground chestnuts and honey in the paste instead of the walnuts and dates. In fact, I just had some the other day...went to heaven. Thanks so much! Boun Natale e Boun Anno Nuovo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yorkbeachbum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This recipe came over from Italy. My grandmother used to make these every year at Christmas. She used poppy seeds and figs. We couldn't wait for the chocolate ravioli's. No one had the recipe and when I found this one and tried it, it brought back wonderful memories of grandma....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This can be made with all semisweet chocolate. I baked them at 375 for 10 minutes, then rolled them in powdered sugar. The filling is wonderful, the dough isn't too sweet, and the combination is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is almost the same recipe my grandmother used. Never saw another recipe using chick peas! I enjoyed the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Our favorite traditional cookie at christmas! Sprinkled w/ granular sugar. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Thank-you so much for this recipe!! My grandmother used to make these, but I never paid attention. I have been searching for this recipe for years and it is like hers, except she added roasted, chopped almonds, and fresh dark grapes cooked down, no dates. Very nice cookie. Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great recipe...my dad the baker used to make these in the bakery at Christmas time.He used riccotta cheese and dates or figs for the filling.Try it,you will love this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
It's a miracle! I've been looking for this recipe for at least 25 years my Mom made these but she never had a complete recipe since it was passed down to her. They would make these also for her name day, St. Joesph Day since my Mom's name was Josephine. I feel like I found a long lost tresure! I'm very proud of my Italian heritage which my Mom instilled in me; "Here's to you Mom, I know your still with me!! I'd give this recipe a 5 Star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My Italian Aunt made these but we called them Cajunitas. The filling was made of chick peas, raisins, figs, almonds, and honey. My Aunt would shred a little chocolate in the filling, but I don't. My family loves these for Christmas. Your filling seems a little sweeter! thanks for the recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States