Italian Special Sweet Fried Ravioli Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Thank you so much for this recipe! Years ago the lovely Italian ladies of my ex's family made many wonderful cookies, and this was one of them. I had the recipe but couldn't find it, and this recipe is the closest to the version these fabulous ladies made! I have to try to make the cookie part gluten free now, but I have the recipe! I feel absolutely VICTORIOUS!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
It's a miracle! I've been looking for this recipe for at least 25 years my Mom made these but she never had a complete recipe since it was passed down to her. They would make these also for her name day, St. Joesph Day since my Mom's name was Josephine. I feel like I found a long lost tresure! I'm very proud of my Italian heritage which my Mom instilled in me; "Here's to you Mom, I know your still with me!! I'd give this recipe a 5 Star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great recipe...my dad the baker used to make these in the bakery at Christmas time.He used riccotta cheese and dates or figs for the filling.Try it,you will love this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe brought back memories! These were my Grandma's Christmas specialty. They used boiled chopped chestnuts instead of garbanzos. They also drizzled honey over them instead of sugar. They definately are an acquired taste. For some reason we called them "pants"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My Italian Aunt made these but we called them Cajunitas. The filling was made of chick peas, raisins, figs, almonds, and honey. My Aunt would shred a little chocolate in the filling, but I don't. My family loves these for Christmas. Your filling seems a little sweeter! thanks for the recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Shouler Baird

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These are so good and I am thankful to have found the recipe! Now my batter had to be doubled bc I had a lot more filling than batter but this was an easy fix, my family loved them and nobody even knew there were beans in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This special reciepe was one of the hits of my "Tastee" party where my guests could taste my Gourmet Canning and Handmade Ravioli's. Perfect ending for the ultimate tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Omg this is almost the very same receipe that my grandma and mom used to make! My family keeps bugging me to carry on the trandition and make them maybe I will try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My Nana used to make these during the Christmas and Easter holidays. We used to call them "cecilottala". The only difference in Nana's recipe was that she would use ground chestnuts and honey in the paste instead of the walnuts and dates. In fact, I just had some the other day...went to heaven. Thanks so much! Boun Natale e Boun Anno Nuovo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yorkbeachbum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Our favorite traditional cookie at christmas! Sprinkled w/ granular sugar. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States