Italian Special Sweet Fried Ravioli Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
It's a miracle! I've been looking for this recipe for at least 25 years my Mom made these but she never had a complete recipe since it was passed down to her. They would make these also for her name day, St. Joesph Day since my Mom's name was Josephine. I feel like I found a long lost tresure! I'm very proud of my Italian heritage which my Mom instilled in me; "Here's to you Mom, I know your still with me!! I'd give this recipe a 5 Star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great recipe...my dad the baker used to make these in the bakery at Christmas time.He used riccotta cheese and dates or figs for the filling.Try it,you will love this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe brought back memories! These were my Grandma's Christmas specialty. They used boiled chopped chestnuts instead of garbanzos. They also drizzled honey over them instead of sugar. They definately are an acquired taste. For some reason we called them "pants"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My Italian Aunt made these but we called them Cajunitas. The filling was made of chick peas, raisins, figs, almonds, and honey. My Aunt would shred a little chocolate in the filling, but I don't. My family loves these for Christmas. Your filling seems a little sweeter! thanks for the recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These are so good and I am thankful to have found the recipe! Now my batter had to be doubled bc I had a lot more filling than batter but this was an easy fix, my family loved them and nobody even knew there were beans in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This special reciepe was one of the hits of my "Tastee" party where my guests could taste my Gourmet Canning and Handmade Ravioli's. Perfect ending for the ultimate tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Omg this is almost the very same receipe that my grandma and mom used to make! My family keeps bugging me to carry on the trandition and make them maybe I will try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My Nana used to make these during the Christmas and Easter holidays. We used to call them "cecilottala". The only difference in Nana's recipe was that she would use ground chestnuts and honey in the paste instead of the walnuts and dates. In fact, I just had some the other day...went to heaven. Thanks so much! Boun Natale e Boun Anno Nuovo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yorkbeachbum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Our favorite traditional cookie at christmas! Sprinkled w/ granular sugar. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This recipe came over from Italy. My grandmother used to make these every year at Christmas. She used poppy seeds and figs. We couldn't wait for the chocolate ravioli's. No one had the recipe and when I found this one and tried it, it brought back wonderful memories of grandma....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States