Italian Spaghetti with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Wow, I certainly didn't expect so much controversy over the eggs. The recipe absolutely does NOT say to cook them. It says to "stir them in" slowly, and then remove from heat. One can't assume the spaghetti is hot if it's been sitting drained for a bit, so I don't see the assumption the eggs would be cooked. I wanted to make *sure*, so I simply let it sit on the heat a bit longer - it doesn't take long nor hurt the recipe in any way. I also stirred it a bit or they just go the bottom and cook as pieces. I disagree that the recipe says to cook them, but it's not such a big deal to just let them sit there a bit longer. Now, I also dumped the olives since I don't like them. I agree with Dreginek that I'd never consider this a "special occasion" dish, but it was good and easy. Had a curiously different taste that I wasn't sure about at first but that kind of grew on me, and I've made this twice now when I've had ham to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
GREAT recipe, quick and easy! I doubled the pasta, used slow fat salami and it turned out creamy and delicious! Make sure you mix the parm and cheese together then add it to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geepa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was good and very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was very good, a good idea for something quick and different. It was a little dry so I added an extra egg the 2nd time. Doubled the garlic and added some onion fllakes which gave it more flavor. Didnt use the black olives though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Delicious! Our family, which includes a toddler, loved this meal. We replaced the parsley with tarragon and used olive oil rather than butter. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeccaBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Liked this recipe very much. Seemed alittle dry; but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Good way to use leftover ham.I added 4 cloves of garlic and cut back on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I bet this would be great with pancetta. Too bad my grocery store doesn't carry any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I thought this was really excellent, although I like Fettucini Carbonara better. This reminded me of that recipe while making this one. Make sure the cheese you use isn't too salty and I wouldn't add any salt the next time. And there will be a next time! Although if you are hungry, this is not 4 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I think this is an awesome, easy and tasty recipe. I make it with olive oil instead of butter to cut down on the calories. I also use dried parsley instead of fresh. I saute the ham so it is slightly brown. I served this recently at a party and everyone loved it. I love olives but my husband doesn't so I have served it without the olives and it is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States