Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
AWESOME!! Oh, this is so good! I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. I did use ground turkey in place of the hambuger and Ritz cracker crumbs instead of the bread crumbs...easily the BEST meatballs I have ever eaten. For the sauce I follwed very closely..after the first 90 minutes, I did use a potato masher on the chunks of tomato (I was afraid my 5 year old won't like it with *lumps*!) I was also a bit leary of adding the meatballs raw, but they cook up moist and just perfect in the 30 minutes of simmering. This is WELL worth the prep time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
I altered the recipe a little, but either way I am sure that it would have been fantastic. Authentic Italian Restaurant caliber! I made the meatballs after the sauce, then browned them in a little in olive oil and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I didn't use the sauce, only the meatballs, but delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Best meatballs that I have ever ate! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Jeremy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Great Recipe! The best meatball recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I made a double batch for a dinner party, and everyone loved it! I used the leftover sauce to make lasgna the next day, and it was delicious. I will definitely be making this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This is great recipe. I would suggest maybe adding some spice to the meatballs though. I used pre-made bread crumbs... no problem - worked like a charm. Very good recipe. Kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bern, Bern, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I finally made a spaghetti sauce that I like! It reminded me of something you'd order at an Italian restaurant! I had never cooked meatballs in the sauce before, but I'll do it that way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Excellent recipe, I did brown the meatballs before putting them into the sauce though, they were quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
I have to admit I cheated and just used a jar of sauce; but I did make the meatballs...WOW! I spruced them up a bit with garlic, onions, and some extra cheese. They were great!! I took about half the meatballs and made a gravy for them with beef consume and a bit of flour and water to make a brown sauce as I don't eat tomatoes. It too was great. I'll definitely make them again. These could also be used as an appetizer or on a buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,073) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States