Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Excellent recipe. I was really surprised that the meatballs stayed together. That being said, next time I am going to cut back on the bread crumbs as the meatballs were almost too sturdy. Also, using whole tomatoes is a big no-no when you have picky eaters in the family. Right before I put the meatballs in the sauce, I pureed the tomatoes in a blender for a couple of seconds. Tasted delicious and the kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kindra Loy Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Awesome the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This is my second review for this recipe and once again, I give it 5 stars. I'm adding another review today because I read through a ton of reviews today before starting and was surprised by a few. I cannot believe the people that said that this dish is bland, be it the meatballs or the sauce. This dish is so flavorful! And I love, love, love the way my house smells while its cooking! Those that think it's bland or just tastes like tomatoes are obviously doing something wrong or their ingredients are poor quality. It's also possible that they're not cooking for the full amount of time. Today, I made this dish exactly as the recipe is written, no changes AT ALL. It is time consuming but worth every minute. My husband and both of my kids, 14 and 7 say that this is the best spaghetti and meatballs that they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thegourmetrose
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is definitely a 5 star spaghetti sauce as is. It has been my favorite go to recipe for years. On occasion when I don't have time to make meatballs, I just add 1 to 2 lbs ground beef and put in 1 tablespoon each of parsley and Parmesan cheese in to the sauce. I always use a wooden spoon to stir any tomato based sauce (as recommended by an Italian friend) as metal or plastic can transfer a funny taste due to acidity in tomatoes. I use agave instead of sugar. I slow cook it for 3 to 4 hours on low after I reduce it some as the whole tomatoes are full of water and can make it a tad runny (without reducing). I always triple the batch and when it is cooled off I put in gallon freezer bags for the days we want a home cooked dinner and don't have much time. I love making either homemade French bread or focaccia bread with this spaghetti. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Phenomenal!! I just made it this evening with my kids. It was very easy to make, uses everything I already have handy, so delicious. I divided my meatballs in half. Tried flouring half then put in pan with olive oil. Then the remaining exactly how it says in the recipe. Leave the recipe alone. Make exactly as it says. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piecookiemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I must say...I have been searching for a meatball recipe that will satisfy my rather picky (when it comes to meatballs) husband and THIS IS IT! My eight year old said it was the best recipe she's had in months :-), and I loved it! I think the key may be the homemade sauce which was simple but delicious and infused with the meatball flavor. I admit that I actually joined allrecipes just to rate this one- it is my first review though I frequent the site. I am not an expert chef so did not dare make any major changes except that I omitted the sugar and the tomato paste as we don't like sweet sauces and I added some salt to the meatball mix; so if you are like me in disliking sweetness, well, then don't add sugar or paste! Otherwise I followed directions- I did not pre-cook the meatballs but added directly to the sauce as specified and they turned out perfectly. This would make a great make ahead meal too. I have found my spaghetti and meatball recipe- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Really good!!!! Incredible flavor and smells! The only 2 things I would change would be split the meatballs into smaller portions (obviously cut cooking time) and add some red chili flakes to the oil before adding onions for some spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This is the first time I made my own spaghetti sauce. It was so easy I will never again buy sauce from a jar! While I had tried making homemade meatballs in the past, it was time consuming so I rarely made homemade meatballs. Not the case with this recipe. Form the meatballs and add them to the meat sauce in the slow cooker. They were delicious and so easy to make. This recipe is a keeper! I think the meatballs and sauce were even better when warmed up for left overs a couple days later. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. I had never made meatballs or sauce from scratch before I tried this, but now I make it about once a month. Delicious. My only complaint is the consistency of the sauce. I usually only use 1 can of whole tomatoes and use a can of crushed for the 2nd. I read of another reviewer who blended a portion of the tomatoes before adding the paste and meatballs, and I think I'll try that next time for a better texture. But meatballs and taste can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was the first time making meatballs from scratch. And it was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States