Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by The Sporadic Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This really is a good recipe for sauce and meatballs. I used dried Italian bread crumbs for the meatballs instead of regular bread. To adjust for the lack of moisture, I added about a 1/4 cup of 2% milk. I cut the parsley in half since the Italian bread crumbs had some already in it. I also added in a few shakes of onion powder, garlic salt, and upped the parm a little with some freshly grated. I really mashed the meatball mixture together to make sure the ground beef was mixed well with the other ingredients. I refrigerated the raw meatballs until it was time to add them to the sauce. Cooked the meatballs in the sauce on low for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sporadic Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
If I could give this 100 stars, I would! This review is mostly for the sauce: This is hands down the best, easy spaghetti sauce I've ever made. It's better than anything from a jar - and just as easy to use. The batch is enormous - so you can make it and freeze half, and have it on hand for those emergency dinners when you don't know what else to make. The first several times I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. I now triple the onion, double the garlic and basil, and add an equal part of oregano to the basil. Delicious and oh-so-flavorful. The meatballs are delicious and tender but no any better than any others that I've had. I do like that you cook them in the sauce, and it does add another flavor dimension to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
The sauce is amazing....my 8yr old son said it was the best he has ever had. Made the meatballs with 1/2 beef 1/2 pork and just didn't trust to not cook them in the oven 1st. But now after reading a few reviews sounds like it would have made the sauce even more amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
The sauce was to thick>>>I added about a 1/2 cup water...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made this tonight. Perfect! Didn't change any measurements. The only thing I did different was make the meatballs smaller so there were more. Loved the smell of the house while the sauce was simmering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
The meatballs need ketchup or tomato sauce added and a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Best speghetti and meatballs I've ever eaten. I can't go back to a jarred sauce now. EVER. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Excellent flavor and very simple to prep. We also made meatball hoagies with leftovers Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
SO SO SO SO good! I followed the recipe exactly and everything came out perfectly. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Absolutely the best meatballs that I have ever had!! Scrumptious, and my family loved it. I was also very impressed by how easy the recipe was. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,094) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States