Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Followed almost exactly as it said. Best meatballs and spaghetti sauce I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Just made the sauce from this recipe & it was awesome! So simple and i even had someone comment on how they would "pay" for a meal like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amp1371

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Wow! Delicious! I've tried several spaghetti sauces on the Allrecipes site. This is the best by far. I made a few changes based on my family's preferences: (1) We like really meaty sauce, so I browned and added 2 lbs of 85/15 ground beef instead of the meatballs. Before browning, I added double the amount of the parmesan cheese, black pepper, garlic powder and parsley that the orignal meatball recipe called for. I added the beef mixture to the sauce mixture after the sauce had simmered for 90 minutes. (2) To the sauce, I added 3-4 tablespoons of Italian Seasoning, doubled the salt and pepper, used 2 bay leaves instead of 1 and added about 1/4 cup of additional sugar. Great recipe. We'll definitely be preparing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Very good with some slight alterations. Pre-cooked the meatballs for 15 min at 425 to seal in flavor and brown the outsides. For extra gooeyness, added 1/4 c. shredded mozzarella cheese to meatballs and used refrigerated garlic. For sauce, sauteed garlic (refrigerated) and 1.5 small onions in 2 T. olive oil. Added 2 large cans of crushed tomatoes, 2 cans tomato paste (we like really thick sauce!) and 2 bay leaves. Let simmer for 90 minutes total at low heat. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alcarlson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
BIG WINNER. My Italian husband said it reminded him of a traditional dinner, in Southern Italy. Clean and simple, but all the flavor you crave. Will definitely make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I grew up in NY eating amazing meatballs from grandma's kitchen (her name, Olive Vinci, should be an indicator of how authentic they were), and this recipe replicated hers almost perfectly (both the sauce and the meatballs). I am sure that following the recipe precisely would be superb without alteration, but I insist that you should use 80/20 ground chuck (the fat makes for more moisture and flavor), and that you should very lightly brown the meatballs in a cast iron skillet with a small amount of olive oil, as I feel it not only helps bind them, gives them a better color, but also adds texture and flavor that you won't want to live without. Don't skimp on the San Marzano tomatoes, it is a difference maker (make sure that you read the ingredients carefully, as some are deceptively labeled as San Marzona "style"). Don't search further than this recipe, as none other could be better...this one is perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bretthiggins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We loved this! It definitely takes about 3 hours, but it was worth it! It was even better the next day for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this today and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mingo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I added 1 can of puree and a half tsp of italian seasoning. Used ground hamb instead of meatballs and added fried whole italian sausages. Everyone couldn't stop eating it while it cooked on the stove. This is real italian sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,073) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States