Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is now my go-to recipe! I do make double or more because it freezes well, and do the meatballs separately, bake and freeze in freezer bags. It freezes better that way, meatballs don't fall apart. The only changes I make to the meatballa are to sub pork for 1/3 of the beef, and add a bit of milk to the meatball mixture for moisture. For the sauce I halve the tomato paste and like to add some other herbs sometimes, especially parsley and marjoram or oregano, but I let the basil carry the flavor. The sauce is good on it's own, but REALLY good once simmered with the meatballs. I made around 10 pints of sauce today, meatballs last week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by us2cooks
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was one of my first times making homemade meatballs and pasta sauce. The sauce turned out very acidic and I didn't know what to add to fix that. The meatballs were good but a little too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by us2cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
absolutely delicious! Meatballs are awesome. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Lots of bad reviews for the meatballs, so I used Kittencal's "Italian-Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs because I knew those were good. Not enough sauce to cover the meatballs. Sauce was so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I have used the recipe for spaghetti sauce several times and it is delicious. In the summer, I use fresh basil and tomatoes from my garden. It makes it even better! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Made this a few times. The latest was the best! I kept the sauce virtually the same, except I had fresh basil and so I used it (3x fresh to dried ratio). Meatballs-- I did 1/2 lean ground beef, 1/2 italian sausage. I added 1 T fresh thyme, 4.5 T fresh parsley (because they were on hand), 1/2 c. ital bread crumbs and 1/2 c. panko-- again, because that's just what I had.. I did sear the meatballs before adding to the sauce-- but I've cooked without searing, and without the other changes, and it's just a lovely sauce. Kids & hubby loved it. And it freezes well. Play with this recipe-- you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was pretty good, I followed alot of others recommendations, such as using pork and beef, adding a little liquid to the meat to keep it moist, and cooking the meatballs before adding them to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I have not made the meatballs but this is my go to recipe for sauce. Jarred sauce is dead to me now :0) I don't add salt to my sauce and I have been cutting back on the EVOO, but this one is great as written. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I've been making various spaghetti and meatball recipes for years...most were pretty good to average... Made this tonight, followed the recipes just as they were written... and this will be the only recipe I make from now on!!... absolutely fantastic!... thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I made this just as it stated and it turned out wonderful. I added a little bit more parmesan cheese but besides that it was great on its own. I was worried about not cooking the meatballs first but they cooked perfectly in the sauce. I will make these again for sure. No need to buy premade meatballs when these are so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States