Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
My nephew loved the sauce. I used diced tomatoes, tomatoe paste and tomatoe sauce. I added Italian sausage to the sauce to make a meat sauce. I also used turkey meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Next time I plan on adding more garlic and sugar. The sugar will help cut out the acidic/tart taste of the tomato. Also I think adding dried oregano and Thyme is essential! These herbs really helped with the flavor. I, like another reviewer, opted for 2 cans of crushed tomato to replace one can of the whole tomatoes, but next time I think I'll opt out of the whole tomatoes can completely. I like my sauce a bit more thick and consistent. Lastly, I will add in a pound of Italian sausage cooked and crumbled to the sauce. This WAS my first time making homemade sauce and it really helped me figure out what I'm looking for, but all in all was easy with a great flavor. I just need a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlenmcginnis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
The sauce was fabulous!!!! The meatballs were not the best I've ever made, but definitely good. I would give the meatballs a 4 star. The meatballs need a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is so easy and good! Way better than my old way using jarred sauce with homemade meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
We made this and thought it was extremely bland. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Excellent recipe. I was really surprised that the meatballs stayed together. That being said, next time I am going to cut back on the bread crumbs as the meatballs were almost too sturdy. Also, using whole tomatoes is a big no-no when you have picky eaters in the family. Right before I put the meatballs in the sauce, I pureed the tomatoes in a blender for a couple of seconds. Tasted delicious and the kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kindra Loy Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Awesome the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This is my second review for this recipe and once again, I give it 5 stars. I'm adding another review today because I read through a ton of reviews today before starting and was surprised by a few. I cannot believe the people that said that this dish is bland, be it the meatballs or the sauce. This dish is so flavorful! And I love, love, love the way my house smells while its cooking! Those that think it's bland or just tastes like tomatoes are obviously doing something wrong or their ingredients are poor quality. It's also possible that they're not cooking for the full amount of time. Today, I made this dish exactly as the recipe is written, no changes AT ALL. It is time consuming but worth every minute. My husband and both of my kids, 14 and 7 say that this is the best spaghetti and meatballs that they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thegourmetrose
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is definitely a 5 star spaghetti sauce as is. It has been my favorite go to recipe for years. On occasion when I don't have time to make meatballs, I just add 1 to 2 lbs ground beef and put in 1 tablespoon each of parsley and Parmesan cheese in to the sauce. I always use a wooden spoon to stir any tomato based sauce (as recommended by an Italian friend) as metal or plastic can transfer a funny taste due to acidity in tomatoes. I use agave instead of sugar. I slow cook it for 3 to 4 hours on low after I reduce it some as the whole tomatoes are full of water and can make it a tad runny (without reducing). I always triple the batch and when it is cooled off I put in gallon freezer bags for the days we want a home cooked dinner and don't have much time. I love making either homemade French bread or focaccia bread with this spaghetti. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Phenomenal!! I just made it this evening with my kids. It was very easy to make, uses everything I already have handy, so delicious. I divided my meatballs in half. Tried flouring half then put in pan with olive oil. Then the remaining exactly how it says in the recipe. Leave the recipe alone. Make exactly as it says. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piecookiemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States