Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Love this recipe and have cooked this several times now! Huge hit with husband and kids. The only changes I made were I used Italian sausage instead of lean ground beef and I add fennel seeds, Italian seasoning and extra garlic powder to the sauce for extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I am having trouble rating the recipe, because as is I found the sauce to be really good, but the meatballs were flavourless and dry. For sauce I would rate 4/5 but for the meatballs I would rate it 2/5. I made modifications to the sauce following some advice from thedailygourmet review as well as well as some of my own modifications. The sauce went from good to amazing. For the meatballs I used the existing recipe as a base but added a lot to it For sauce - Used 2 28oz cans of diced Italian seasoned tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. Added 1 tsp of italian seasoning, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp garlic powder Reduced salt to 1 1/3tsp of salt as I found 2 tsp way too salty (and I love salt). I also found the original recipe too runny, so I used two cans of tomato paste. Next time I might try using tomato sauce I also used immersion blender to purée the sauce For Meatballs- Used 1/2 lb lean ground beef and 1/2 lb lean ground pork Used italian seasoned breadcrumbs. Added 2 cloves of minced garlic Added 1 tsp of marjoram Increased parmesan cheese to 1 tablespoon Added 1 tsp of salt Increased black pepper to 1/2 tsp Added 1/2 cup of milk. Next time I think I will reduce the amount of breadcrumbs to 1/2 cup as I think it is too much and then reduce the amount of milk to 1/4 cup Browned meatballs in frying pan before adding to sauce. (Although this is a personal choice, it's the way I grew up with) I found these meatballs having way more flavour and nice and juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was a very good recipe. I made only a couple of alterations. I added a splash or red wine just because I don't think it is red sauce without a little red wine. Instead of dried basil, I added Italian spice which is a blend of basil, thyme, etc. I am not sure why a reviewer felt this recipe was overly sweet. In fact I like my sauce a little sweeter than what this recipe called for. The meatballs were very good. They reminded me of the ones made by many of the Italian cooks in my hometown. I think they always put them directly into the sauce and never browned them first. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The BEST spaghetti and meatballs recipe around. I make it as written and it's devoured every time. Works great with tomatoes canned from the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I think this recipe is perfect as is. The meatballs come out nice and tender yet stay together. If the mix seems a little dry because my beef is too lean I add a splash or two of milk. Been making this on a regular basis for over a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I adore this recipe. I honest to goodness crave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This is my go to for sauce. Haven't tried the meatballs but the sauce is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is now my go-to recipe for tomato sauce. I haven't tried the meatballs yet but the sauce has been a hit over & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Really delicious and worth the time and effort. I like how the meatballs cook in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodFanatic
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I looooove this meatball recipe! I followed the meatball recipe exactly as it was written. Because I wanted larger meatballs, I changed the serving from 6 servings to 9 servings so that I can use 3 pounds of beef. I used a 1/4 measuring cup to measure out my meat portions so that they could cook uniformly--which brought it to 11 giant balls. For the sauce, I used a ready-made sauce due to time and added some extra ingredients to make it my own. Overall, the meatballs came our tender and flavorful. This will be my go-to recipe for meatballs from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States