Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This sauce is amazing!!!! I added some fresh tomatoes from my garden and some Italian sausage. So yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I only made the meatballs. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Followed the recipe, but added some fresh Italian parsley to the meatballs, a healthy tablespoon of Italian seasoning to the sauce. Was worried it would be too bland, and am glad I added the extra seasoning. Braising the meatballs in the sauce was initially a weird idea to me, but it worked well. Not spongey, and medium brown! However, I still think I prefer the texture achieved via the traditional method of separately browning them first. The only reason I am not giving this five stars is the addition of the tomato paste at the end. I should have trusted my instinct and pre-cooked the sauce in a bit of oil to get rid of that canned taste. I followed the recipe and just dumped it in...the tomato paste flavor never really went away, even after more than 30 minutes of simmering. I added some balsamic vinegar to mask it a bit, but hubby still noticed the paste first thing. So, with a few tweaks, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
We loved this, we have sophisticated pallets and are not sure why there were so many saying it needed so many changes. I simmered meatballs in the sauce, I only changed two things using fresh parsley not dried and half beef half ground pork.(tip to others about dry meatballs the recipe calls for fresh not dry bread crumbs so just cut into small pieces or thru a mini chopper, if you are using dry you must soak about half the amount in milk with fat). On the sauce I added 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper because we like heat and I used San Marzano tomatoes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This dish is phenomenal! I doubled the meatballs and did 1.5 lbs ground beef with .5 lbs ground pork. I used about 22 meatballs and froze the rest for another meal. Also added Italian seasoning. For the sauce I pureed fresh tomatoes from our garden. This was my 11 yr old's bday dinner request she loves it so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I add oregano to the sauce because spaghetti sauce needs oregano. Sometimes a little rosemary too. But I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Everyone thinks I'm a true Italian!! THE MOST DELICIOUS/Easy Spaghetti&Meatballs recipe BAR NONE! This will be on my meal "rotation" from now on!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Riggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I just made the meatballs and they were very easy and my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This came out great. I used ground chicken, and put a little milk into the meat mix and it was moist and delicious. I ended up just throwing the ground meat right into the sauce without forming the meatballs. Mixed into spaghetti, this meal was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
That was really good the recipe was on point my sisters love it thanks??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States