Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was a very interesting, complex sauce! Next time, though, I think I'll definitely add more garlic, and use my immersion blender to smooth out the sauce before adding the meatballs. Think I'll also add milk to the meatball mixture; the meatballs were good, but not super tender. Amazing sauce though--I had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
GREAT FOR HOSTING VEGANS AT A NON VEGAN DINNER! I made the sauce completely without the meatballs, then separated out some for my vegan guests. I then added the meatballs and finished the sauce as it was meant to be. My vegan guests could eat the same meal with us and enjoy it and EVERYONE loved it! My only complaint is that the meatballs could use more seasoning. Next time I'll just add more of everything. Overall this was a fantastic recipe that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Great starter recipe . I made the following changes: with meatballs - increased Parmesan cheese to 1/4 cup....used Italian bread crumbs .....added trinity seasoning to meat(includes garlic onion bell pepper and celery) used zatarans creole seasoning instead of just pepper....added no salt Italian seasoning....half ground meat and half sweet Italian sausage. With sauce- again trinity seasoning instead of just onion....28 oz crushed tomato....28 oz diced tomato...add can of Italian seasoned tomato sauce to final batch..added zatarans seasoning and Italian seasoning instead of just pepper...and increased sugar to 3 tsp. Well seasoned and very tasty. Absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
My boyfriend is Italian and this is as close to home as he's ever felt since his move to Minnesota to be with me. He loved this recipe but he did insist that I bake the meatballs prior to adding them to the sauce. I use this recipe at least 3 times a month! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
The sauce was great, but I took the bay leaf out as it was making it too hot. Have my own meatball recipe as I use Elk burger. Its soo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I found this recipe to be very tasty. I omitted the salt and used "no salt added" tomatoes for a healthier sauce. You can't tell that the salt is missing. I also used fresh parsley instead of dried, I think it has better flavor, and added some Pecorino Romano and Parmesan about a Tablespoon or so of each. Since I had already made meatballs and had them frozen, I just added them to the sauce to defrost and heat up. This is now my favorite sauce, when I make it I make enough to freeze for later and it tastes even better after it has been frozen. This one is a keeper! Even my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
The sauce was nice - nothing earth shattering, but easy and tasty. I made it in the crockpot based on another review here, great idea! I would make this again, but I would make the meatballs about half the size next time. The recipe says to make 12, but they are really big, and as some have noted here they have kind of a bready texture from all the breadcrumbs. I think if you didn't have to cut into them but could just pop them in your mouth they would be more appealing. I would also add a little minced onion or something to them next time. But overall, nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
needed some tweaking but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This was really good but also a little too soupy. It wasn't bland at all to me. When I make this again I will probably drain the tomatoes first. My husband wasn't crazy over it because of it being so soupy and also having clumps of tomatoes. I like the clumps though. I browned my meatballs a little before adding it to the sauce and they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I sautéed mushrooms with the garlic and onions to add more flavor to the sauce and also browned the meatballs before to seal in flavor it was so good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States