Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This came out great. I used ground chicken, and put a little milk into the meat mix and it was moist and delicious. I ended up just throwing the ground meat right into the sauce without forming the meatballs. Mixed into spaghetti, this meal was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
That was really good the recipe was on point my sisters love it thanks??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This is very good I add more garlic and less salt 4 fresh tomatos other than that awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Selby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
excellent! I made the recipe exactly as it reads and everything was perfect. I was nervous not browning the meatballs first, but they added a great flavor to the sauce and were very juicy. Next time I may spice it up with some other seasoning and veggies but was wonderful as it! thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Very Good! I substituted the canned tomatoes with fresh ones from my garden. I may grow more next year just so I can can some of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenback, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
THE BEST SAUCE I'VE EVER MADE! This is my 1st time leaving a review (although I've been on this site for many years- I HAD to review this one!)Don't let the simplicity of this recipe fool you- it's wonderful! I used ground turkey (all I had on hand at the time) so I omitted the breadcrumbs and upped the Parmesan cheese to 2Tbsp. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as written. No need to precook the meatballs- cooking them inside the sauce is what I believe makes this sauce so delicious. I will Never use another recipe- and that says a lot because I'm always switching things up here and there-but don't mess with perfection once you find it! Thank you Jeremy! Update: I forgot to add that before I put my meatballs into the sauce to cook for the final 30 minutes I pull out the bay leaves and then I drop an immersion blender into the pot and blend it into a completely smooth consistency- it's a personal preference- my family likes a smooth sauce and it blends all the flavors together so nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very Yummy!! I added 1/4 teaspoon of chili powder and a 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes for a kick. I will def be making this again and agian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leticia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This sauce was amazing. I followed the instructions as written, but used San Marzano tomatoes in the can. They cost a little more, but have amazing taste. After 9- minutes, I used am immersion blender to blend the sauce, and then added the meatballs. I used the meatballs and sauce to make meatball sandwiches for dinner, with salad and fruit. It got rave reviews from the kids and hubby. This will be in our regular rotation of meals. Next time I plan to double the recipe and freeze the sauce in containers for a quick weeknight dinner. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Sporadic Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This really is a good recipe for sauce and meatballs. I used dried Italian bread crumbs for the meatballs instead of regular bread. To adjust for the lack of moisture, I added about a 1/4 cup of 2% milk. I cut the parsley in half since the Italian bread crumbs had some already in it. I also added in a few shakes of onion powder, garlic salt, and upped the parm a little with some freshly grated. I really mashed the meatball mixture together to make sure the ground beef was mixed well with the other ingredients. I refrigerated the raw meatballs until it was time to add them to the sauce. Cooked the meatballs in the sauce on low for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sporadic Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
If I could give this 100 stars, I would! This review is mostly for the sauce: This is hands down the best, easy spaghetti sauce I've ever made. It's better than anything from a jar - and just as easy to use. The batch is enormous - so you can make it and freeze half, and have it on hand for those emergency dinners when you don't know what else to make. The first several times I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. I now triple the onion, double the garlic and basil, and add an equal part of oregano to the basil. Delicious and oh-so-flavorful. The meatballs are delicious and tender but no any better than any others that I've had. I do like that you cook them in the sauce, and it does add another flavor dimension to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States