Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Really 4 1/2. The only thing I did to make it my favorite was to split half lean ground beef, and half ground pork. Don't listen to those people who say to brown the meatballs before putting in the sauce. NOT browning them allows the flavors of the sauce to really get in there. We are a carnivore family, so I took the other half pounds of beef and pork, and browned them with the onion and garlic to start the sauce. Other than that, this was excellent. I have no idea why anyone would want to buy store bought pasta sauce. This is too easy, and tastes much, much, much fresher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoriRachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I made this recipe as is. It is an O.K. sauce, the people I made it for really enjoyed it. I thought it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I followed the instructions almost exactly. I wanted smaller meatballs, so I ended up with 20. I had diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning on hand so I used those instead of the whole ones. The only other difference was that once my husband and I were raving over this on hoagie rolls as a wonderful meatball sandwich, I realized that I forgot the tomato paste at the end. We had plenty of leftovers so I added most of the can afterwards. We had it with noodles the next day and both agreed that it had too much tomato flavor for us. That's our preference though, so this recipe still gets a solid 5 stars. In the future, I will omit the tomato paste. Other than that, this was fabulous! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahill
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Love this recipe. I did change a few things, used ground turkey, and also added crushed red peppers to give it a kick. I also added a little more organic raw sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Delicious dish! I am regularly not a fan of tomato sauces, but this is a beautiful sauce. I used whole tomatoes and blended them a little after they were cooked because my bf is not a fan of whole tomatoes. Turned out great! I also made meatballs out of pork/beef mix with fresh bread crumbs and a little bit of milk - nice and juicy. Used someone else's suggestion to coat the meatballs in flour before adding them to the sauce. Loved the dish! Will try to cook more next time, so I can freeze some of the sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olga K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I love the meatballs in this dish. Also, it's the only way I cook them now. Raw in the simmering, hot sauce for 1/2 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Love the sauce, and just added a little more salt, pepper and garlic to the meat balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Selden Cram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Used 17-20 fresh Roma tomatoes and a medium onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This recipe was great. I altered the recipe by using Italian seasoned bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States