Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made the sauce according to the recipe and only added sugar and oregano. This recipe was delicious! I'll never buy canned sauce again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. I thought the sauce was amazing, really delicious, but the meatballs were a little too "meatloafy" for my preference. Don't get me wrong, they were still great, I'd probably use less breadcrumbs next time though. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
It is very easy to make and very little mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was a very interesting, complex sauce! Next time, though, I think I'll definitely add more garlic, and use my immersion blender to smooth out the sauce before adding the meatballs. Think I'll also add milk to the meatball mixture; the meatballs were good, but not super tender. Amazing sauce though--I had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
GREAT FOR HOSTING VEGANS AT A NON VEGAN DINNER! I made the sauce completely without the meatballs, then separated out some for my vegan guests. I then added the meatballs and finished the sauce as it was meant to be. My vegan guests could eat the same meal with us and enjoy it and EVERYONE loved it! My only complaint is that the meatballs could use more seasoning. Next time I'll just add more of everything. Overall this was a fantastic recipe that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Great starter recipe . I made the following changes: with meatballs - increased Parmesan cheese to 1/4 cup....used Italian bread crumbs .....added trinity seasoning to meat(includes garlic onion bell pepper and celery) used zatarans creole seasoning instead of just pepper....added no salt Italian seasoning....half ground meat and half sweet Italian sausage. With sauce- again trinity seasoning instead of just onion....28 oz crushed tomato....28 oz diced tomato...add can of Italian seasoned tomato sauce to final batch..added zatarans seasoning and Italian seasoning instead of just pepper...and increased sugar to 3 tsp. Well seasoned and very tasty. Absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
My boyfriend is Italian and this is as close to home as he's ever felt since his move to Minnesota to be with me. He loved this recipe but he did insist that I bake the meatballs prior to adding them to the sauce. I use this recipe at least 3 times a month! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
The sauce was great, but I took the bay leaf out as it was making it too hot. Have my own meatball recipe as I use Elk burger. Its soo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I found this recipe to be very tasty. I omitted the salt and used "no salt added" tomatoes for a healthier sauce. You can't tell that the salt is missing. I also used fresh parsley instead of dried, I think it has better flavor, and added some Pecorino Romano and Parmesan about a Tablespoon or so of each. Since I had already made meatballs and had them frozen, I just added them to the sauce to defrost and heat up. This is now my favorite sauce, when I make it I make enough to freeze for later and it tastes even better after it has been frozen. This one is a keeper! Even my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
The sauce was nice - nothing earth shattering, but easy and tasty. I made it in the crockpot based on another review here, great idea! I would make this again, but I would make the meatballs about half the size next time. The recipe says to make 12, but they are really big, and as some have noted here they have kind of a bready texture from all the breadcrumbs. I think if you didn't have to cut into them but could just pop them in your mouth they would be more appealing. I would also add a little minced onion or something to them next time. But overall, nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,073) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States