Italian Sausage with Farfalle and Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Very tasty recipe. Could use any chunky pasta for this recipe, e.g., penne. I used less sausage as I don't need that much meat in a dish. Will definitely prepare again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I agree with the first reviewer that this is a very tasty and well seasoned recipe. I needed to size it in half so used two fresh Italian Sausage and removed the casing. Also used "regular" broccoli and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Delicious, both me and the husband ate up :).. though I cut the butter in half..maybe explaining why my sauce didn't thicken..no worries, just mixed the pasta in w/sauce over heat..and then removed heat and let it cool/soak while I finised the dishes. I used the Parmesean reggiano..and found dish plenty salty w/o adding the called for salt. Never used the broccoli rabe before, so I was concerned with finding it and prep..but found some at my Indiana Meijer(maybe not that uncommon?) ..I cut most of the stem away..keeping mostly the leaves and small heads. After 4min of cooking..this was plenty wilted..(I'll try for firmer next time..very tasty though..the leaves absorbed/coated with sauce nicely). Of coarse..what's not good with a pound of italian sausage? Next time I'll probably cut the sausage in half to help with the calorie count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I love this recipe! I lightened it up a bit by using turkey sausage, skipping the butter, and adding just a dash of parmesan when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
First time cooking w/broccoli rabe and I was under the impression that you should always blanch it first. Bad idea (at least with this recipe) because it had turned to mush by the end. And I was unsure how to trim it so I ended up cutting off the stems completely...which left me with barely any broccoli rabe once it was done cooking. Despite this the recipe still came out good and everyone loved it. I wouldn't suggest cutting the butter any as it was a key component to the sauce. I had to add a little cornstarch to mine to thicken it but I think that was a result of not enough broccoli rabe. I'm sure I'll have better luck next time. And I used crumbed sausage links, but I would highly reccomend the bulk sausage as suggested in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Good taste, but sauce didn't thicken and the cheese didn't melt in but just kind of turned into a goopy mess in the middle of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
sauce was too runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This dish was very good! We grilled the sausage and sauteed the broccoli rabe in garlic and onion, then combined everything and warmed it all up together. It came out REALLY DELICIOUS! we have leftovers and will probably heat it up with some kind of sauce. This recipe is a sure winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was great! It was nearly identical to a dish I love at a fancy Italian restaurant where I live. It went well with a crusty Italian bread that you could dip into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States