Italian Sausage with Farfalle and Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Made this with broccoli rabe. Very easy dish. Only used 1 cup of parm cheese and dish was very salty. Sauce thickened as expected. Will try this dish again with a different type of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is a great time and wallet friendly recipe. I made for 6 in about 30 min overall, and people loved it. If your maybe thinking of trying this one, do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I've made this only once, but will make again! Both hubby and I loved it. The cheese does turn into a globby mess and the sauce doesn't thicken like most sauces, so I added corn starch to thicken and mix better. Have patience, it thickens when added to the al dente pasta (picking up on starch from that). Used regular broccoli because I couldn't find Broccoli Rabe (and still don't know what that is). Didn't have red pepper flakes so used Cayenne pepper (just a tiny bit). Used fresh broccoli (don't like frozen) and suggest putting it in only 1-2 min before adding the pasta (mine was overdone by the time it was served). I didn't add mushrooms, but will next time. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was very good, but I think the broccoli rabe could be substituted with spinach or maybe regular broccoli, since the other flavors pretty much overwhelm the taste of it. I don't really like the flavor of the broccoli rabe by itself anyway. I used hot italian turkey sausage and was able to leave off the crushed red pepper,added extra garlic,left out the butter. Didn't have parmasan so that was left out, but I'm sure that would be good just take into consideration the saltiness of it. Good recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Helpful hint to add the cheese...add the sausage mixture to the pasta then add the cheese combining throughout. No clumping and the sauce will thicken. I didn't have broccoli rabe so I used frozen broccoli spears lightly thawed. No salt necessary in this dish...the cheese adds quite enough salt. Overall, a nice dish for something quick and complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I have tried many different recipes for this dish, and this is the best. I didn't change a thing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very tasty. Will definitely make again. I didn't have incredients with me so I bought regular ole sweet sausage in casing. Instead of removing casing I just cut it up into small chunks as it was cooking. I also added more chopped garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
THE FLAVOR IS EXCELLENT!!! The cheese really clumps up thou. Its perfect as leftovers. (I might try Jack cheese next time.) There will absolutely be a next time. This was great. Also, the sauce will be thin, it should be and once you put the noodles with it the soak up the sauce & flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Well, dinner was a disaster tonight. Almost threw it out to get take out...but my husband said lets just try it. First of all the cheese NEVER melted..it just stayed in gooey sticky clumps. The sauce never thickened and the brocc. got soggy and overcooked trying to get the sauce thicker. Tried adding some cornstarch which barely helped since I didnt wanna cook it to much longer due to overcooking everything even more. We ended up eating it...the flavor was there...but without sauce and overcooked brocc. it only gets 2 stars. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I have made this a bunch of times, and its good everytime but i always change it up a bit. I ALWAYS add more broccoli rabe than the recipe calls for because I love it, but then I add a little more broth so that the sauce is still present. I usually use less cheese and instead serve cheese on the side. SOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States