Italian Sausage with Farfalle and Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Very good. Only change i made was using chopped spinach rather than the broccoli rabe. I am not much of a broccoli eater. But, overall really liked and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
My father was from Italy and he would have enjoyed this recipe! It was my first time cooking rabe. This recipe was easy, yet tasty! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
One of my favorite recipes...Although I did substitute regular broccolo for the rabe. Awesome flavor and a hit every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Blairsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was just O.K. I thought that there was too much pasta vs. other stuff. I also didn't really get that much of a sauce--I think if I make it again I will try using cream cheese instead of butter to make more of a creamy sauce. It did have a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Very yummy... but a little salty. Wonder if using chicken italian sausage made a difference. Will make again but try to cut the salt down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Made this with broccoli rabe. Very easy dish. Only used 1 cup of parm cheese and dish was very salty. Sauce thickened as expected. Will try this dish again with a different type of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is a great time and wallet friendly recipe. I made for 6 in about 30 min overall, and people loved it. If your maybe thinking of trying this one, do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I've made this only once, but will make again! Both hubby and I loved it. The cheese does turn into a globby mess and the sauce doesn't thicken like most sauces, so I added corn starch to thicken and mix better. Have patience, it thickens when added to the al dente pasta (picking up on starch from that). Used regular broccoli because I couldn't find Broccoli Rabe (and still don't know what that is). Didn't have red pepper flakes so used Cayenne pepper (just a tiny bit). Used fresh broccoli (don't like frozen) and suggest putting it in only 1-2 min before adding the pasta (mine was overdone by the time it was served). I didn't add mushrooms, but will next time. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was very good, but I think the broccoli rabe could be substituted with spinach or maybe regular broccoli, since the other flavors pretty much overwhelm the taste of it. I don't really like the flavor of the broccoli rabe by itself anyway. I used hot italian turkey sausage and was able to leave off the crushed red pepper,added extra garlic,left out the butter. Didn't have parmasan so that was left out, but I'm sure that would be good just take into consideration the saltiness of it. Good recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Helpful hint to add the cheese...add the sausage mixture to the pasta then add the cheese combining throughout. No clumping and the sauce will thicken. I didn't have broccoli rabe so I used frozen broccoli spears lightly thawed. No salt necessary in this dish...the cheese adds quite enough salt. Overall, a nice dish for something quick and complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States