Italian Sausage with Farfalle and Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
First time cooking w/broccoli rabe and I was under the impression that you should always blanch it first. Bad idea (at least with this recipe) because it had turned to mush by the end. And I was unsure how to trim it so I ended up cutting off the stems completely...which left me with barely any broccoli rabe once it was done cooking. Despite this the recipe still came out good and everyone loved it. I wouldn't suggest cutting the butter any as it was a key component to the sauce. I had to add a little cornstarch to mine to thicken it but I think that was a result of not enough broccoli rabe. I'm sure I'll have better luck next time. And I used crumbed sausage links, but I would highly reccomend the bulk sausage as suggested in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very tasty. Will definitely make again. I didn't have incredients with me so I bought regular ole sweet sausage in casing. Instead of removing casing I just cut it up into small chunks as it was cooking. I also added more chopped garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Very tasty recipe. Could use any chunky pasta for this recipe, e.g., penne. I used less sausage as I don't need that much meat in a dish. Will definitely prepare again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Helpful hint to add the cheese...add the sausage mixture to the pasta then add the cheese combining throughout. No clumping and the sauce will thicken. I didn't have broccoli rabe so I used frozen broccoli spears lightly thawed. No salt necessary in this dish...the cheese adds quite enough salt. Overall, a nice dish for something quick and complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I have made this a bunch of times, and its good everytime but i always change it up a bit. I ALWAYS add more broccoli rabe than the recipe calls for because I love it, but then I add a little more broth so that the sauce is still present. I usually use less cheese and instead serve cheese on the side. SOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This dish was very good! We grilled the sausage and sauteed the broccoli rabe in garlic and onion, then combined everything and warmed it all up together. It came out REALLY DELICIOUS! we have leftovers and will probably heat it up with some kind of sauce. This recipe is a sure winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I love this recipe! I lightened it up a bit by using turkey sausage, skipping the butter, and adding just a dash of parmesan when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
A really good, quick, pasta dish! We like these brothy sauces in pasta dishes as it is a nice change from tomato-based sauces. I think it's a little heavy on the butter, so will reduce or leave it out next time. No need to add the salt. The broth can probably be reduced to 2 cups. Used regular broccoli since I had it on hand and it worked out great! Be sure to cook your pasta to JUST al dente so that it can soak up all that rich sauce from the pan. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I agree with the first reviewer that this is a very tasty and well seasoned recipe. I needed to size it in half so used two fresh Italian Sausage and removed the casing. Also used "regular" broccoli and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was too much cheese and too thick. I made it again and reduced the cheese by at least half and even added some extra chicken stock. Much better!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States